Operation Napoleon by Arnaldur Indridason

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 7 Critic Reviews



Prepare for blockbuster action in the vein of Clive Cussler and Alistair Maclean

A mesmerizing international thriller that sweeps from modern Iceland to Nazi Germany. In 1945, a German bomber crash-lands in Iceland durign a blizzard. Puzzlingly, there are both German and American officers on board. One of the senior German officers claims that their best chance of survival is to try to walk to the nearest farm. He sets off, a briefcase handcuffed to his wrist, only to disappear into the white vastness.

Flash forward to the present. The U.S. Army is clandestinely trying to remove the wreck of an airplane from an Icelandic glacier. A young Icelander, Elias, inadvertently stumbles upon the excavation and then promptly disappears. Before he vanishes, though, he manages to contact his sister, Kristin. She embarks on a thrilling and perilous adventure, determined to discover the truth of her brother's fate. Kristin must solve the riddle of Operation Napoleon, even if it means losing her own life.

Arnaldur Indridason has proven himself to be a master of the mystery genre with his critically acclaimed Inspector Erlunder series, which has sold more than 6 million copies. Now, world-class writing and nonstop action meet in this spellbinding page-turner, which catapults Arnaldur Indridason to the top ranks of international thriller writers.


About Arnaldur Indridason

See more books from this Author
ARNALDUR INDRIDASON won the CWA Gold Dagger Award for Silence of the Grave and is the only author to win the Glass Key Award for Best Nordic Crime Novel two years in a row, for Jar City and Silence of the Grave. The film of Jar City, now available from Netflix, was Iceland's entry for the Academy Award for Best Foreign Film, and the film of his next book, Silence of the Grave, is currently in production with the same director. The recent film Contraband, starring Mark Wahlberg, is based on an Icelandic film written by Indridason, who lives in Reykjavik, Iceland.
Published September 27, 2011 by Minotaur Books. 337 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Education & Reference, Crime, War. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Operation Napoleon

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Near the outset of this kinetic thriller from Indridason (Jar City), Krist%C3%ADn, a lawyer with the Iceland Foreign Ministry in Reykjav%C3%ADk, receives a phone call from her younger brother, El%C3%A

Jul 29 2011 | Read Full Review of Operation Napoleon

Book Reporter

While fans of the Erlendur books may be somewhat disappointed in OPERATION NAPOLEON, thriller readers --- and the two groups are not necessarily mutually exclusive sets --- will enjoy a wild ride through an unfamiliar setting with a bit of social commentary thrown in.

Dec 01 2011 | Read Full Review of Operation Napoleon

The Bookbag

I was particularly taken by the feisty heroine – it's usually a man in these situations – and the background to the presence of the Americans on Iceland which creates ambivalence towards them amongst a number of Icelanders.

Jan 01 2013 | Read Full Review of Operation Napoleon

20Something Reads

By Genre » |

Dec 01 2011 | Read Full Review of Operation Napoleon

Spinetingler Magazine

The descriptions of the various elements of the story are overwhelming: the freezing weather, the subterfuge of the Americans, the divergent views of Icelanders vis-à-vis relations with United States authorities, and other conflicts.

Mar 29 2011 | Read Full Review of Operation Napoleon


Do pick this book up if you feel like an action packed book with a very curious ‘what if’ to certain points in history.

Jun 30 2011 | Read Full Review of Operation Napoleon


"Operation Napoleon" (Minotaur Books), by Arnaldur Indridason: In the waning hours of World War II, a covert German bomber carrying both German and American officers crashes in the snow in Iceland.

Oct 03 2011 | Read Full Review of Operation Napoleon

Reader Rating for Operation Napoleon

An aggregated and normalized score based on 156 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review