Ordinary Wolves by Seth Kantner
A Novel (Milkweed National Fiction Prize)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews



In the tradition of Jack London, Seth Kantner presents an Alaska far removed from majestic clichés of exotic travelogues and picture postcards. Kantner’s vivid and poetic prose lets readers experience Cutuk Hawcly’s life on the Alaskan plains through the character’s own words — feeling the pliers pinch of cold and hunkering in an igloo in blinding blizzards. Always in Cutuk’s mind are his father Ab,; the legendary hunter Enuk Wolfglove, and the wolves — all living out lives on the unforgiving tundra. Jeered and pummeled by native children because he is white, Cutuk becomes a marginal participant in village life, caught between cultures. After an accident for which he is responsible, he faces a decision that could radically change his life. Like his young hero, Seth Kantner grew up in a sod igloo in the Alaska, and his experiences of wearing mukluks before they were fashionable, eating boiled caribou pelvis, and communing with the native tribes add depth and power to this acclaimed narrative.

About Seth Kantner

See more books from this Author
Published January 1, 2010 by Milkweed Editions. 343 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Ordinary Wolves

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

After home-schooling, Cutuk finishes high school in Takunak, where he falls in love with Dawna, the granddaughter of his idol Enuk Wolfglove, who disappeared while hunting wolves.

| Read Full Review of Ordinary Wolves: A Novel (Mil...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

(May) Forecast: Early buzz—the novel has been selected for Barnes & Noble's Discover Great New Writers Program and highly praised by Barbara Kingsolver ("exotic as a dream, acrid and beautiful and honest as life")—an author tour and BEA appearance should help put Kantne r on the map.

| Read Full Review of Ordinary Wolves: A Novel (Mil...

Star Tribune

See more reviews from this publication

chewing tops off mountains, ripping up trees, flossing with cables"), followed by Sara Clubbers ("gnat people buzzing in clouds .

May 29 2004 | Read Full Review of Ordinary Wolves: A Novel (Mil...

Reader Rating for Ordinary Wolves

An aggregated and normalized score based on 75 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review