Outlaw by Angus Donald

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 5 Critic Reviews



In the tradition of Bernard Cornwell and Ben Kane, Outlaw is a rousing historical novel that mixes legend with fact to bring to life the time, the lives and the struggles of late 12th century England. As the Henry II struggles with his rebelious children and the conflict between the Saxon nobility and the Norman conquerors continues on as bloody as ever, there is a figure that has remained firmly fixed in the imagation of generations - Robin Hood, an outlaw and a renegade nobility determined to bring down the men who took his land, his family, and his position.

When he's caught stealing, young Alan Dale is forced to leave his family and go to live with a notorious band of outlaws in Sherwood Forest. Their leader is the infamous Robin Hood. A tough, bloodthirsty warrior, Robin is more feared than any man in the county. And he becomes a mentor for Alan; with his fellow outlaws, Robin teaches Alan how to fight - and how to win. But Robin is a ruthless man - and although he is Alan's protector, if Alan displeases him, he could also just as easily become his murderer...From bloody battles to riotous feast days to marauding packs of wolves, Outlaw is a gripping, action-packed historical thriller that delves deep into the fascinating legend of Robin Hood.


About Angus Donald

See more books from this Author
Angus Donald was born in China in 1965 and educated at Marlborough College and Edinburgh University. He has worked as a fruit-picker in Greece, a waiter in New York and as an anthropologist studying magic and witchcraft in Indonesia. For the past 15 years, he has been a journalist in Hong Kong, India, Afghanistan and London.
Published April 12, 2011 by St. Martin's Griffin. 352 pages
Genres: History, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Crime. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Outlaw

The Bookbag

Robin agrees to take Alan into his protection, and so begins Alan's life as an outlaw.

Oct 24 2009 | Read Full Review of Outlaw

Reviewing the Evidence

Seen Ridley Scott's new Robin Hood film?

| Read Full Review of Outlaw

MostlyFiction Book Reviews

He has just published his first book of short stories, The Outlaw Album, a collection of twelve dark and riveting stories.

Nov 01 2011 | Read Full Review of Outlaw

The American Book Center Blog

Any associations I have with Robin Hood always seem to involve Kevin Costner swirling down through the trees with Maid Marian on his arm (Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves), closely followed by the image of the latest BBC series about this legendary mischievous outlaw.

Aug 19 2009 | Read Full Review of Outlaw

Heart to Heart: The Barnes and Noble Romance Blog

He gives us the bigger than life hero/villain but shows him in a more realistic light, emphasizing the cruelty and barbarism of the 12th Century in the guise of authority, he shows us the leftover paganism melded with the Christian world and he shows us beauty the likes of which may no longer exi...

| Read Full Review of Outlaw

Reader Rating for Outlaw

An aggregated and normalized score based on 86 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review