Overlay by Marlayna Glynn Brown
A Tale of One Girl's Life in 1970s Las Vegas

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


Readers: Please note that the memoir, The Trilogy, contains all three of the author's memoirs: Overlay, City of Angeles and Big as All Hell and Half of Texas.

Set in glamorous 1970s Las Vegas, OVERLAY is the fighting-to-come-of-age story of a resilient child born into an ongoing cycle of alcoholism and abandonment. Marlayna develops a powerful sense of self-preservation in contrast to the fallen adults entrusted with her care. Her profound story explores the characters and events populating her life as she moves from home to home, parent to parent, family to family, ultimately becoming homeless at the age of fourteen. 

Out of the resources of her remarkable childhood emerges an inner strength that will charm and captivate readers and remain in their consciousness long after the last page of her story has been turned.

About Marlayna Glynn Brown

See more books from this Author
Marlayna Glynn Brown is a nomadic mother of four, author, screenwriter, actress, producer, poet, yogi and photographer. Marlayna was born and raised in Las Vegas, Nevada but now lives wherever she lays her head.Marlayna's works include Overlay: A Tale of One Girl's Life in 1970s Las Vegas, City of Angeles, Big as All Hell and Half of Texas, Bleach the Sheets and Forty-Something Phoenix.Her 2009 short film, People That do Something, is based upon a chapter from Overlay and can be viewed on Youtube.Visit Marlayna at www.marlaynaglynnbrown.com.
Published January 16, 2014 by Bawer House Artisanal Publishing. 419 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Children's Books. Non-fiction

Reader Rating for Overlay

An aggregated and normalized score based on 465 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review