Owl Sees Owl by Laura Godwin

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

It’s a story that finds a lovely balance between the joys of independence and the comforting security of home.
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year

Fans of the classic picture book Owl Babies by Martin Waddell and Patrick Benson will adore this utterly simple picture book in which a baby owl goes off on his first adventure.
 
With just three or four words per page, this story follows a baby owl one night as he leaves the safety of his nest (Home/Mama/Brother/Sister) and explores the starry world around him (Soar/Glide/Swoop/Swoosh). Inspired by reverso poetry, the words reverse in the middle when the baby owl is startled upon seeing his reflection in the pond (Owl/Sees/Owl). Afraid of it, little owl takes off toward home, soaring over farms and forests (Swoosh/Swoop/Glide/Soar) until he is finally safely home again (Sister/Brother/Mama/Home).

"Fans of Jane Yolen’s Owl Moon and Martin Waddell’s Owl Babies will also love this calming story about an owl’s first adventure." —School Library Journal, Starred
 

About Laura Godwin

See more books from this Author
Laura Godwin has written many well-loved books for children, including the Doll People novels, which she co-authored with Ann M. Martin. She also works as a children’s book editor. She lives in New York City.Rob Dunlavey is the illustrator of The Dandelion’s Tale by Kevin Sheehan, which was called “luminous” and “radiant” in a starred review by Kirkus Reviews; Over in the Wetlands by Caroline Starr Rose; and Counting Crows by Kathy Appelt. His artwork has been featured in the New York Times, the Boston Globe, BusinessWeek, and the Los Angeles Times, among many other publications. He lives in suburban Boston with his wife, two teenage daughters, a cat, and a tropical fish. Learn more at robd.com.

Author Residence: New York City

Author Hometown: Alberta, CanadaBooklist called ROB DUNLAVEY's illustrations "charming" in a review for his first book The Dandelion's Tale. He also illustrated Over in the Wetlands by Caroline Starr Rose and Counting Crows by Kathy Appelt. His artwork has been featured in the New York Times, the Boston Globe, BusinessWeek, and the Los Angeles Times, among many other publications. He lives in suburban Boston with his wife, two teenage daughters, a cat, and a tropical fish.Illustrator Residence: Boston, MA
 
Published September 20, 2016 by Schwartz & Wade. 40 pages
Genres: Nature & Wildlife, Children's Books.
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Owl Sees Owl
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Excellent
on Jun 22 2016

Observant readers will notice text and illustrations repeat in reverse order, beginning with “Home Mama Brother Sister” as Owl departs and closing with “Sister Brother Mama Home” as Owl returns safely home. A perfectly paced, holistically rendered home-away-home story.

Read Full Review of Owl Sees Owl | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Good
on Apr 27 2017

It’s a story that finds a lovely balance between the joys of independence and the comforting security of home.

Read Full Review of Owl Sees Owl | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Reader Rating for Owl Sees Owl
94%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 9 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×