(Wings of War)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



Mark Berent's first two novels of three extraordinary men in the midst of the Vietnam conflict, Rolling Thunder and Steel Tiger, met with widespread critical acclaim. The New York Times Book Review called Rolling Thunder an "unusually arresting book" and named it one of its "Notable Books' of 1989. The Washington Post Book World praised Steel Tiger as "a real tour de force," calling Berent "an experienced warrior who can artfully spin gripping, compelling tales of his craft."

In Phantom Leader (May 9, 1991) Berent, himself a highly decorated Air Force Pilot, once again captures the intensity of the most controversial war in modern history. Phantom Leader shows readers exactly what it was like to be a pilot caught between the immediate reality of death and the distant decisions of Washington.

It is January, 1968, and with the fury of the Tet offensive about to burst, Berent's courageous men find themselves at the very heart of the Vietnam War. As the Viet Cong attack in full force all over Vietnam, FAC pilot Toby Parker sees the North Vietnamese moving PT-76 tanks down the Ho Chi Minh Trail, but his attempt to acquire proof fails. Captured by the enemy, Parker finds himself trapped square in the middle of the tank attack on the Long Tri; Major "Flak" Apple, the first black Air Force Fighter to be shot down in Vietnam, becomes a prisoner in Hanoi's infamous Hoa Lo Prison; USAF Major Court Bannister needs only one more shootdown to become an ace but violations of the Rules of Engagement over North Vietnam force him to fly secret night missions over Laos, Bannister must make a decision that could make him Vietnam's first ace -- or end his military career forever. Special Forces Colonel Wolf Lochert settles accounts with an old enemy, only to meet an enemy he cannot defeat in battle; and General "Whitey" Whisenand stretches to protect the troops in the field while fighting a rear-guard action in Washington.
It is the third of the five-book Rolling Thunder series. Next are Eagle Station and Storm Flight.


See more books from this Author
MARK BERENT served in the Air Force for over twenty years, first as an enlisted man and then as an officer. He has logged 4,350 hours of lying time, over 1,000 of them in combat. During his three Vietnam tours, Berent earned not only the Silver Star, but two Distinguished Flying Crosses, air medals, a Bronze Star, Vietnamese Cross of Gallantry, and Legion of Merit.
Published June 17, 2014 by Putnam. 448 pages
Genres: History, Political & Social Sciences, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Action & Adventure, War, Literature & Fiction, Horror. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for PHANTOM LEADER

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

 Berent continues his highly detailed Vietnam War saga (Rolling Thunder, Steel Tiger), taking his Air Force flyers into 1968 and the Tet offensive.

May 20 2010 | Read Full Review of PHANTOM LEADER (Wings of War)

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In this Vietnam-era sequel to Rolling Thunder and Steel Tiger , Berent takes his well-established characters into the period of the Tet Offensive. Fighter pilot Court Bannister and forward air control

Apr 29 1991 | Read Full Review of PHANTOM LEADER (Wings of War)

Reader Rating for PHANTOM LEADER

An aggregated and normalized score based on 17 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review