Painter of Silence by Georgina Harding
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

...Andrei, the young man with the green car, is a frustratingly sketchy character, while the improbable neatness of the ending undermines the novel's subtle complexity...
-Guardian

Synopsis

It is the early 1950s. A nameless man is found on the steps of the hospital in Iasi, Romania. He is deaf and mute, but a young nurse named Safta recognizes him from the past and brings him paper and pencils so that he might draw. Gradually, memories appear on the page: the man is Augustin, the cook's son at the manor house at Poiana where Safta was the privileged daughter. Born six months apart, they had a connection that bypassed words, but while Augustin's world stayed the same size, Safta's expanded to embrace languages, society, and a fleeting love one long, hot summer. But then came war, and in its wake a brutal Stalinist regime, and nothing would remain the same.

Georgina Harding's kaleidoscopic new novel will appeal to readers of Anne Michaels, Michael Ondaatje, and Sandor Marai. It is as intense and submerging as rain, as steeped in the horrors of our recent history as it is in the intimate passions of the human heart.

 

About Georgina Harding

See more books from this Author
Georgina Harding is the author of the novels The Spy Game and The Solitude of Thomas Cave. She lives in London and the Stour Valley, Essex.
 
Published September 18, 2012 by Bloomsbury USA. 321 pages
Genres: History, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Painter of Silence
All: 2 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 1

Guardian

Above average
Reviewed by Clare Clark on Mar 23 2012

...Andrei, the young man with the green car, is a frustratingly sketchy character, while the improbable neatness of the ending undermines the novel's subtle complexity...

Read Full Review of Painter of Silence: A Novel | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Above average
Reviewed by Anthony Cummins on Mar 17 2012

Moving as the novel is, it might have stirred minds as well as hearts had it risked letting its protagonist's lack of language disrupt its own well-made surface.

Read Full Review of Painter of Silence: A Novel | See more reviews from Guardian

Reader Rating for Painter of Silence
80%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 32 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×