Paperboy by Vince Vawter

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

An engaging and heartfelt presentation that never whitewashes the difficult time and situation as Little Man comes of age.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." —Booklist, Starred
 
"An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" —ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt Falls Again
 
This Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of To Kill a Mockingbird, The King’s Speech, and The Help. A boy who stutters comes of age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life.
 
Little Man throws the meanest fastball in town. But talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering—not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friend’s paper route for the month of July, he’s not exactly looking forward to interacting with the customers. But it’s the neighborhood junkman, a bully and thief, who stirs up real trouble in Little Man’s life.
 
A Newbery Honor Award Winner
An ALA-ALSC Notable Children’s Book
An IRA Children’s and Young Adults’ Choice
An IRA Teachers’ Choice
A Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the Year
A National Parenting Publications Award Honor Book
A BookPage Best Children’s Book
An ABC New Voices Pick
A Junior Library Guild Selection
An ALA-ALSC Notable Children’s Recording
An ALA-YALSA Amazing Audiobook
A Mississippi Magnolia State Award List Selection
 
“[Vawter’s] characterization of Little Man feels deeply authentic, with . . . his fierce desire to be ‘somebody instead of just a kid who couldn’t talk right.’” —The Washington Post
 
Paperboy offers a penetrating look at both the mystery and the daily frustrations of stuttering. People of all ages will appreciate this positive and universal story.” —Jane Fraser, president of the Stuttering Foundation of America
 
*“[A] tense, memorable story.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred
 
“An engaging and heartfelt presentation that never whitewashes the difficult time and situation as Little Man comes of age.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
“Vawter portrays a protagonist so true to a disability that one cannot help but empathize with the difficult world of a stutterer.” —School Library Journal

 

About Vince Vawter

See more books from this Author
VINCE VAWTER, a native of Memphis, retired after a 40-year career in newspapers, most recently as the president and pubisher of the Evansville Courier & Press in Indiana. Paperboy is his first novel.


Author Residence: Louisville, TN
 
Published May 14, 2013 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers. 242 pages
Genres: Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Paperboy
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on Mar 13 2013

An engaging and heartfelt presentation that never whitewashes the difficult time and situation as Little Man comes of age.

Read Full Review of Paperboy | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for Paperboy
87%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 292 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×