Patient Number 7 by Kurt Palka

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

This deeply engrossing and unforgettable novel will leave readers shouting "bravo" for the resiliency of the human spirit.
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

Inspired by a true story and based on a wealth of family documents, this elegant and compelling novel chronicles the lives of two families from the 1930s through the coming of the Nazis and World War II, and the long, difficult post-War period to the present. A must-read for fans of Irene Nemirovsky, Hans Fallada, and Bernhard Schlink's The Reader.
 
This vividly realized, masterfully executed novel is a window into a little-explored corner of history. Patient Number 7 is a story of love between an aristocratic young woman and the cavalry officer -- later Panzer officer in the German army -- she marries; between friends who help each other through the Nazi takeover of Austria, the war, and what was sometimes worse, the "liberation"; between a mother and her two very different daughters. But it is also the story of a nation's darkest days, and its slow recovery during one of the most convulsive, violent periods of human history. Beautifully written, haunting, and ultimately redemptive, it is a work of great skill and great compassion.


From the Hardcover edition.
 

About Kurt Palka

See more books from this Author
KURT PALKA was born and educated in Austria. He began his working life in Africa where he wrote for African Mirror and made wildlife films in Kenya and Tanzania. After moving to Canada he worked on international stories for CTV and GLOBALTV, wrote for American and Canadian publications such as the Chronicle Herald and the Globe and Mail, and worked as a Senior Producer for the CBC. Patient Number 7 is his fifth novel.From the Hardcover edition.
 
Published March 27, 2012 by McClelland & Stewart. 386 pages
Genres: History, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Patient Number 7
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

Publishers Weekly

Good
on Mar 03 2014

This deeply engrossing and unforgettable novel will leave readers shouting "bravo" for the resiliency of the human spirit.

Read Full Review of Patient Number 7 | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Toronto Star

Good
Reviewed by Jennifer Hunter on Apr 07 2012

Patient Number 7 is essentially about survival and acceptance...Palka’s book contains wisdom and elegance. He is a literary tour guide taking us into a post-Habsburg culture we could not access on our own.

Read Full Review of Patient Number 7 | See more reviews from Toronto Star

Reader Rating for Patient Number 7
67%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 33 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×