Penny Dreadful by Laurel Snyder

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews



The perfect book for girls and boys who look to find adventure and magic in surprising places!

What if you were really bored with your life? What would you wish for?

Penelope Grey wishes for something—anything!—interesting to happen, and here’s what she gets:

• Her father quits his job.
• Her family runs out of money.
• Her home becomes a pit of despair.

So Penelope makes another wish, and this time the Greys inherit a ramshackle old house in the middle of nowhere. Off they go, leaving the city and their problems behind them. Their new home is full of artists, tiny lions, unusual feasts, and true friends. Almost immediately, their lives are transformed. Penelope’s mother finds an unexpected job, her father discovers a hidden talent, and Penelope changes her name!

Penny’s new life feels too magical to be real, too real to be magic. And it may be too good to last . . . unless she can find a way to make magic work just one more time—if it even was magic.

Any Which Wall author Laurel Snyder introduces a quirky cast of characters as pleasantly strange as they are deeply real. Abigail Halpin adds to the charm with her distinctive line drawings.

Fans of Polly Horvath’s My One Hundred Adventures, Ingrid Law’s Savvy, and Jeanne Birdsall’s The Penderwicks will be enchanted by Laurel Snyder’s alternatively humorous and poignant look at small-town life and what it really takes to become a happy family.

From the Hardcover edition.

About Laurel Snyder

See more books from this Author
When she's not out exploring the great green world with her kids, the indefatiguable LAUREL SNYDER writes picture books, among them Nosh, Schlep, Schluff: BabYiddish; Baxter, the Pig Who Wanted to Be Kosher; and Inside the Slidy Diner, as well as the novels Bigger than a Breadbox, Penny Dreadful, Any Which Wall, and Up and Down the Scratchy Mountains. Originally from Baltimore, she now makes her home in Atlanta, conveniently close to an urban farm and a kudzu-tangled creek. Visit her at JUI ISHIDA was born in Taiwan and raised in Japan. She studied illustration at the Art Center College of Design in Pasadena, California, and graduated with distinction. She has illustrated many children's books including Somewhere So Sleepy by Diane Muldrow, Sail Away, Little Boat by Janet Buell, and God Created by Mark Francisco Bozzuti-Jones. Jui lives in Long Beach, California, with her husband and two children.
Published September 28, 2010 by Random House Books for Young Readers. 322 pages
Genres: Travel, Children's Books.

Unrated Critic Reviews for Penny Dreadful

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

28th, 2010 Page count: 320pp ...

| Read Full Review of Penny Dreadful

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

She lives in a city mansion with kind but often absent parents, and although "Penelope knew she had nothing to complain about," she one day makes a wish for an "everything change," hoping to conjure up some of the magic that she reads about in her beloved books (Snyder plugs The Little Princess a...

Sep 13 2010 | Read Full Review of Penny Dreadful

Kidz World

This book shows that what so many people desire—to be rich and live in a mansion—isn’t necessarily what makes people happy.

Nov 28 2010 | Read Full Review of Penny Dreadful


PENNY DREADFUL by Laurel Snyder is the story of Penelope's granted wishes.

Sep 27 2011 | Read Full Review of Penny Dreadful

Reader Rating for Penny Dreadful

An aggregated and normalized score based on 19 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review