Penny and Her Marble by Kevin Henkes

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

In the third easy-to-read book about Penny the mouse, written by Caldecott Medalist and bestselling author Kevin Henkes, Penny finds a beautiful marble on her neighbor's lawn and must decide whether or not to keep it. With age-appropriate vocabulary, compelling characters, and a memorable storyline, Penny and her Marble is just right for beginning readers and was named a 2014 Geisel Honor book by the American Library Association. This annual award, given to the most distinguished books for beginning readers, is named for the world-renowned children's author Theodor Geisel, also known as Dr. Seuss.

Kevin Henkes is known for his mouse characters, including Lilly, Owen, Chrysanthemum, Wemberly, and now Penny! In Penny and her Marble, the third book in the Penny series, Penny finds a marble on Mrs. Goodwin's yard and takes it home. But does the marble really belong to Penny? Kevin Henkes is a master at creating beautifully illustrated books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge.

 

About Kevin Henkes

See more books from this Author
Kevin Henkes is the creator of award-winning books for children and young readers. Many of them star his mouse characters, including the #1 New York Times bestseller Wemberly Worried, the Caldecott Honor Book Owen, and the beloved Lilly's Purple Plastic Purse. His most recent books are Little White Rabbit, Junonia, and the first two books in this series, Penny and Her Song and Penny and Her Doll. Kevin Henkes lives in Madison, Wisconsin. You can visit him online at www.KevinHenkes.com.
 
Published August 27, 2013 by Greenwillow Books. 48 pages
Genres: Nature & Wildlife, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Penny and Her Marble

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Henkes ups the emotional stakes in his third book starring Penny, in which guilt hangs heavily over the young mouse. Penny is instantly smitten with the blue marble she discovers on a neighbor’s lawn,

Jan 14 2013 | Read Full Review of Penny and Her Marble

Reader Rating for Penny and Her Marble
97%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 22 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×