Peppe the Lamplighter by Elisa Bartone

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews



In the tradition of Lois Lowry and Paul Fleischman, Elisa Bartone's Caldecott Honor-winning book gives children a glimpse into American history and the immigrant experience.

This is the story of Peppe, who becomes a lamplighter to help support his immigrant family in turn-of-the-century New York City, despite his papa's disapproval. Peppe's family is very poor, and though he is just a boy he needs to find work. Being a lamplighter is not the job his father had dreamed of for Peppe, but when Peppe's job helps save his little sister, he earns the respect of his entire family.

Supports the Common Core State Standards.


About Elisa Bartone

See more books from this Author
Ted Lewin grew up in an old frame house in Buffalo, New York, with two brothers, one sister, two parents, a lion, an iguana, a chimpanzee, and an assortment of more conventional pets. The lion was given to his older brother, Don, while he was traveling as a professional wrestler, and he shipped it home. The family kept Sheba in the basement fruit cellar until Don returned and their mother convinced him to give it to the Buffalo zoo. Ted always knew he wanted to be an illustrator. As a child he copied the work of illustrators and painters he admired, including N. C. Wyeth, Winslow Homer, John Singer Sargent, Velázquez, and Goya. When it came time to go to art school (Pratt), he needed to earn money to finance his education. So, following in his brother’s footsteps, he took a summer job as a wrestler -- the beginning of a 15-year part-time career that eventually inspired his autobiographical book I Was a Teenage Professional Wrestler. Ted’s career as an artist began with illustrations for adventure magazines, and it’s only over the last several years that he has devoted his time to writing and illustrating children’s books. "I’m having more fun doing this than anything I’ve ever done before," he says. He is an avid traveler, and many of his books are inspired by trips to such places as the Amazon River, the Sahara Desert, Botswana, Egypt, Lapland, and India. His Market!, published in 1996, showcases markets around the world, from Uganda to Ireland to Ecuador.Touch and Go is a collection of stories about the adventures Ted had while researching his books. Gorilla Walk is his first collaboration with his wife, Betsy, and is about their trek to see the mountain gorillas in Uganda. They’ve just completed their second collaboration, Elephant Quest, set in the Okavango Delta of Botswana. Ted’s current project is about a Civil War drummer boy.Ted and Betsy live in Brooklyn, New York, where they share their home with two cats, Slick and Chopper.
Published April 26, 1993 by Lothrop, Lee & Shepard. 32 pages
Genres: Travel, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction, Education & Reference. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Peppe the Lamplighter

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

At a time when streetlamps are lit by hand, Peppe lives in New York's Little Italy.

| Read Full Review of Peppe the Lamplighter

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Bartone deftly vivifies a slice of American history--and the immigrant experience--in this touching story of a boy's quest to win his sick father's respect.

| Read Full Review of Peppe the Lamplighter

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

An Italian American boy at the turn of the century becomes a lamplighter to support his family. In PW's words, The thoughtful, fluid text, while uniquely personal, is universal in scope. Ages 5-up

Sep 22 1997 | Read Full Review of Peppe the Lamplighter

Reader Rating for Peppe the Lamplighter

An aggregated and normalized score based on 11 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review