Persuading Austen by Brigid Coady

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

I truly wondered why Austen didn’t just give up and move on before he finally opens her eyes with a text message of love. Here Anne is just too cringing, self effacing and self defeating as she mumbles and stares at her feet for me to feel much beyond book long exasperation.
-Dear Author

Synopsis

‘I loved it! Wicked humour with a big heart’ - Liz Fenwick

It is a truth universally acknowledged that working with an ex is a terrible idea…

Annie Elliot never expected her life to turn out this way: living with her dad, working as an accountant – surely the least glamorous job in Hollywood?! – and dodging her family’s constant bickering.

Landing a job as a producer on a new adaptation of Pride and Prejudice seems like the piece of luck she’s been waiting for. Until the cast is announced, and Annie discovers that the actor playing Mr Darcy is Austen Wentworth: the man she’s spent nearly a decade trying to forget.

Not only is Austen her ex – but while Annie’s life has stalled, Austen is Hollywood’s hottest property…and has just been voted World’s Sexiest Man.

With nowhere to hide, there’s just one question. Now the one who got away has come back, should Annie stand by her pride? Or give into Austen’s powers of persuasion?

A laugh-out-loud retelling of a Jane Austen romance, perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk and Fiona Collins

Brigid Coady was the winner of the 2015 Joan Hessayon New Writers’ Scheme Award

Praise for Brigid Coady

‘Awesome, awesome, awesome! … Fans of Paige Toon, Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk, this will most definitely be your thing!’ – Sophie Bailey, ibloggbooks.com

‘As the story moved from setting the scene and firmly entrenching the reader in a Persuasion rerun to the actual filming it stepped away from a faithful retelling of the story and came into its own right. If you loved films like Ten Things I Hate About You …you will really like this.’ – Alison Robinson, Netgalley

 

About Brigid Coady

See more books from this Author
I was born in the UK but raised round the world and spent most of my childhood with my nose in a book. When I was seven I wrote my first proper story about a magic puddle that flipped up to reveal a secret world underground. I’m now a non-practicing engineer who works in project management. I write romance and young adult stories. I’ve been a voice-over and radio continuity artist. I love country music and used to have my own radio show. My boyfriend says I have an unhealthy obsession with Kenny Chesney. I live in London.
 
Published July 18, 2017 by HQ Digital. 384 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Romance, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Persuading Austen
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Dear Author

Below average
Reviewed by Jayne on Jul 26 2017

I truly wondered why Austen didn’t just give up and move on before he finally opens her eyes with a text message of love. Here Anne is just too cringing, self effacing and self defeating as she mumbles and stares at her feet for me to feel much beyond book long exasperation.

Read Full Review of Persuading Austen | See more reviews from Dear Author
×