Pocket Kings by Ted Heller

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Heller is facile with structure and plot, and his sentences and paragraphs are clear and often vivid...
-NY Times

Synopsis

In this dead-on satire of online obsessions, a novelist with writer’s block finds a new—and very lucrative—stream of income in a virtual world that appears to give him everything he lacks in the real world.

When Frank Dixon, a frustrated writer who has seen his career crash and burn, decides to dabble in online poker, he discovers he has a knack for winning. In this newfound realm, populated by alluring characters—each of them elusive, mysterious, and glamorous—he becomes a smash success: popular, rich, and loved. Going by the name Chip Zero, he sees his fortunes and romantic liaisons thrive in cyberspace while he remains blind to the fact that his real life is sinking. His online success, however, does not come without complications, as he comes to realize that his “virtual” friends and lovers are, in fact, very real, and one rival player is not at all happy that Mr. Zero has taken all his money.

Heller’s cautionary tale is continually surprising and startlingly real, a tour de force of satirical storytelling in the vein of Jonathan Tropper and Sam Lipsyte.

 

About Ted Heller

See more books from this Author
Ted Heller is the photo editor and senior writer at "NickeloTed Heller is the photo editor and senior writer at "Nickelodeon" magazine. He has worked at a variety of magazines, incdeon" magazine. He has worked at a variety of magazines, including "Spy, Premiere, Details, " and (very briefly) "Vanityluding "Spy, Premiere, Details, " and (very briefly) "Vanity Fair." He lives in New York City. Fair." He lives in New York City.
 
Published March 27, 2012 by Algonquin Books. 367 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Pocket Kings
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

NY Times

Good
Reviewed by Katy Lederer on Apr 06 2012

Heller is facile with structure and plot, and his sentences and paragraphs are clear and often vivid...

Read Full Review of Pocket Kings | See more reviews from NY Times

Reader Rating for Pocket Kings
81%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 52 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×