Postcards from Camp by Simms Taback

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

The hilarious correspondence between a reluctant first-time camper and his dad

This fabulously creative book by Caldecott Award winner Simms Taback features handmade postcards and funny letters that readers will enjoy pulling out of their envelopes. Michael is new to sleepaway camp, and it's not going so well. He thinks his counselor is an alien, his bunkmates are pranksters, and it's constantly raining. So he sends his dad a series of urgent notes pleading for rescue. His dad is quick to reply, but encourages Michael to stick it out, reminding him that he met some of his best buddies at camp. Eventually there is a subtle change in Michael's tone - and a mention of a friend or two. Before you know it, Michael's a happy camper who's planning a longer stay next time.

Fans of Griffin & Sabine and The Jolly Postman will delight in the artistry of this book; the incredibly detailed cards and envelopes and amazing stamps. And they will enjoy taking part in a correspondence that reveals a deep affection between father and child, as Michael's exaggerated pleas are answered by his father's gentle jokes and advice. Here is a book that families and friends will enjoy together - and there's even a classic campfire ghost story tucked into one of those envelopes!
 

About Simms Taback

See more books from this Author
Simms Taback (www.simmstaback.com) has illustrated many beloved books for children, and it was at sleepaway camp that he first heard a song called “I Had a Little Overcoat.” He adapted it many years later into a children's book called Joseph Had a Little Overcoat, which won the Caldecott Medal in 2000. He won a Caldecott Honor for his innovative There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly and a Sydney Taylor Honor for Kibitzers and Fools, and his I Miss You Every Day was a New York Times bestseller. He lives in Ventura, California.
 
Published June 30, 2011 by Nancy Paulsen Books. 40 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Children's Books, Education & Reference, Travel.

Unrated Critic Reviews for Postcards from Camp

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

A reluctant camper gradually adjusts over the course of the summer, which is communicated entirely in postcards and letters between him and his father.

Jun 01 2011 | Read Full Review of Postcards from Camp

Rate this book!

Add Review