Power Down by Ben Coes

80%

5 Critic Reviews

Coes pumps new heat, blood, and flat-out action into a well-worn premise—terrorists are out to break America by attacking its energy resources—in his frighteningly plausible thriller debut.
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

Introducing a major new thriller writer—in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor—and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas.

A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist attack. But there was one factor that the terrorists didn't take into account when they struck the Capitana platform off the coast of Colombia—slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform—and that was the Capitana crew chief Dewey Andreas. Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun.
While the intelligence and law enforcement agencies scramble to untangle these events and find the people responsible, the mysterious figure of Alexander Fortuna—an agent embedded into the highest levels of American society and business—sets into play the second stage of these long-planned attacks. The only fly in the ointment is Dewey Andreas—who is using all his long-dormant skills to fight his way off the platform, then out of Colombia and back to the U.S., following the trail of terrorists and operatives sent to stop him. Power Down is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from Ben Coes, a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre's finest writers.

 

About Ben Coes

See more books from this Author
Praise for COUP D'ÉTAT "High concept meets high octane in this brilliantly executed thriller. Envision Clancy, Forsyth, and le Carré all writing in their prime…then kick in the boosters. Coup d'État is fantastic and Ben Coes blows the competition away!"-#1 New York Times bestselling author Brad Thor "This exciting sequel to Power Down explores an all-too-plausible conflict…the plot sizzles with action, and the details have an authentic ring that put this thriller a cut above the pack." -Publishers Weekly "Will keep you up at night-first with the titillation of a great read, then with dread that Ben's plot might not be all that imaginary. A sumptuous dessert for a thriller reader."-Brian Haig, author of The Capitol Game Power Down "Power Down is terrific! With a gripping story, compelling characters, a relentless pace, and nerve-wracking suspense, Power Down is one of the must-read thrillers of the year. Don't miss this debut of novelist Ben Coes and the introduction of Dewey Andreas-you'll devour this one and wait anxiously for their return."-Vince Flynn, New York Times bestselling author of Pursuit of Honor "Coes pumps new heat, blood, and flat-out action into a well-worn premise-terrorists are out to break America by attacking its energy resources-in his frighteningly plausible thriller debut." -Publishers Weekly "I loved Power Down! It's a fresh, exciting thriller and the action scenes are big, vivid and authentic, at times even breathtaking. An impressive debut for Ben Coes. I was blown away." -David Morrell, New York Times bestselling author of Creepers and creator of Rambo "A ripping thriller from an exciting new novelist. Power Down kept me glued, turning the pages. Lots of action, a terrific hero, and a slimy villain-thrillers don't get any better."-Stephen Coonts, New York Times bestselling author of The Disciple "Power Down marks the emergence of a major new talent in the political thriller genre-no small feat in a field already packed with big names like Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, and David Baldacci. In terms of sheer entertainment value, author Ben Coes and his hero, the unusually but memorably named Dewey Andreas, are easily and immediately competitive with the very best the thriller field has to offer."-Fiction Addict "One of those rare, glue-in-your-seat books. Sit down, pick it up, and start reading. You aren't going anywhere for anything until you finish it."-Bookreporter.com
 
Published September 28, 2010 by St. Martin's Press. 637 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Political & Social Sciences, Action & Adventure, War. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Power Down
All: 5 | Positive: 5 | Negative: 0

Publishers Weekly

Good
on Jul 19 2010

Coes pumps new heat, blood, and flat-out action into a well-worn premise—terrorists are out to break America by attacking its energy resources—in his frighteningly plausible thriller debut.

Read Full Review of Power Down | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Book Reporter

Good
Reviewed by Book Reporter on Aug 16 2011

POWER DOWN is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre’s finest writers.

Read Full Review of Power Down

Large Print Reviews

Good
on Aug 06 2012

This first novel is filled with action, strong characters, both the good and the bad, and a well-developed plot in which thousands of people are killed by fanatics who are far worse and far more effective than Osama ben Laden.

Read Full Review of Power Down

Fiction Addict

Good
on Sep 07 2010

Power Down is a straightforward, fast-paced, and exciting story in the tradition of Tom Clancy and Stephen Coonts. The central threat is realistic and dramatic and feels like it could appear in tomorrow’s headlines.

Read Full Review of Power Down

Birmingham Public Library

Good
on Mar 23 2012

It is the first novel by Coes who spent part of his career as a speechwriter in the administrations of Presidents Ronald Reagan and George H.W. Bush. Even at 449 pages, the novel moves quickly and I couldn’t wait to discover what happened next.

Read Full Review of Power Down

Reader Rating for Power Down
86%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 1125 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×