Prairie River by Kristiana Gregory
Journey of Faith, A

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



It is the spring of 1865, and the end of the Civil War is near. As the nation is struggling to come to peace with itself, all Vanessa Clemens can think about is her birthday. She has been dreading it for weeks, for the day she turns fourteen she must leave the orphanage that has been her home for a decade. The headmaster has made arrangements for Nessa. Either she can become a servant or marry the pastor, an older dreary man. Those are her only options. Then, on her birthday morning, Nessa hears cries flooding the sleepy Missouri town: President Lincoln has been assassinated. This national tragedy spurs her to flee on the first stagecoach heading West, determined not to be a servant or unloved wife.

This is #1 in the series.

About Kristiana Gregory

See more books from this Author
Kristiana Gregory is the bestselling author of many Dear America titles, including THE WINTER OF RED SNOW and its follow-up, CANNONS AT DAWN; ACROSS THE WIDE AND LONESOME PRAIRIE; and SEEDS OF HOPE. She has also written the Cabin Creek Mysteries, which are based on bedtime stories she told her sons when they were young and restless. Kristiana lives in Boise, Idaho. Visit her online at
Published September 22, 2011 by KK Publishing Corporation. 227 pages
Genres: Children's Books, Literature & Fiction, History, Religion & Spirituality. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Prairie River


Nessa cannot really remember ever having the love and security of a home and family.

Jul 01 2003 | Read Full Review of Prairie River: Journey of Fai...

Reader Rating for Prairie River

An aggregated and normalized score based on 24 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review