Prize Stories 2000 by Larry Dark
The O. Henry Awards (Pen / O. Henry Prize Stories)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



An Anchor Original

The 80th anniversary edition of "the nation's most prestigious awards for the short story."--The Atlantic Monthly

Established early in the last century as a memorial to O. Henry, throughout its history this annual collection has consistently offered a remarkable sampling of contemporary short stories. Each year stories are chosen from large and small literary magazines and a panel of distinguished writers is enlisted to award the top prizes. The result is a superb collection of twenty inventive, full-bodied stories representing the very best in American and Canadian fiction.

About Larry Dark

See more books from this Author
Larry Dark is the editor of four other anthologies, Literary Outtakes, The Literary Ghost, The Literary Lover, and The Literary Traveler. He lives in Montclair, New Jersey. Michael Cunningham is the author, most recently, of The Hours, which won the Pulitzer Prize and the 1999 PEN/Faulkner Award. He lives in New York City. Pam Houston is the author of Cowboys Are My Business and Waltzing the Cat. She teaches at the University of California, Davis and lives in Colorado. George Saunders is the author CivilWarLand in Bad Decline and Pastoralia.
Published September 12, 2000 by Anchor. 411 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Prize Stories 2000

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Dark's perfunctory introduction to this year's collection is right about one thing: there are a lot of deaths in the 20 stories selected by judges Michael Cunningham, Pam Houston, and George Saunders.

May 20 2010 | Read Full Review of Prize Stories 2000: The O. He...

Austin Chronicle

And though this year's collection doesn't feature any stunners on the same level as, say, Lorrie Moore's "People Like That Are the Only People Here" from a few years back, most of the stories here easily earn their prize distinction.

Nov 24 2000 | Read Full Review of Prize Stories 2000: The O. He...

Reader Rating for Prize Stories 2000

An aggregated and normalized score based on 6 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review