Prodigy by Marie Lu
A Legend Novel (Legend (Trilogy - Hardcover))

75%

22 Critic Reviews

This book inspired me to such highs and lows, and ignited that spark of revolutionary patriotism—not unlike listening to my president speak—that (while I was reading, at least) I was ready to pledge my life to it.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

The second book in Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!

June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request—June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.

It’s their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long. 

But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she’s haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong?

In this highly-anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestseller Legend, Lu delivers a breathtaking thriller with high stakes and cinematic action. 

 

"Masterful." —The Los Angeles Times

"Lu's action-packed series is the real deal." —Entertainment Weekly 


From the Trade Paperback edition.
 

About Marie Lu

See more books from this Author
MARIE LU is the art director at Online Alchemy, a video-game company, and also owns the business and brand Fuzz Academy. She lives in Los Angeles.
 
Published January 29, 2013 by Speak. 386 pages
Genres: Romance, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Young Adult, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction, Children's Books, Horror. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Prodigy
All: 22 | Positive: 18 | Negative: 4

Kirkus

Good
Reviewed by Jenny Bird on Jan 29 2013

This book inspired me to such highs and lows, and ignited that spark of revolutionary patriotism—not unlike listening to my president speak—that (while I was reading, at least) I was ready to pledge my life to it.

Read Full Review of Prodigy: A Legend Novel (Lege... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Kirkus

Good
on Oct 31 2012

Meanwhile, the heroes’ confusion when faced with the mores of the world outside their own Republic shines a worrying lens upon our own world. The slow build culminates in a satisfyingly cinematic climax.

Read Full Review of Prodigy: A Legend Novel (Lege... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Above average
on Dec 30 2016

The portrayal of their dilemma is taut and insightful, and while the story line resembles a high plateau of tension rather than a conventional arc, there are enough unfolding questions to propel the narrative to its aching ending.

Read Full Review of Prodigy: A Legend Novel (Lege... | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

NY Journal of Books

Good
Reviewed by Cynthia Doran on Jan 29 2013

Just clear your calendar to allow yourself the luxury of reading this book in one or two sittings. You will be shaken—and book three will not come soon enough.

Read Full Review of Prodigy: A Legend Novel (Lege... | See more reviews from NY Journal of Books

Teen Reads

Good
Reviewed by Chris Shanley-Dillman on Jan 30 2013

Marie Lu has written a winner of a sequel: heart pounding with excitement, steamy with romance and shocking with hidden truths.

Read Full Review of Prodigy: A Legend Novel (Lege...

Deseret News

Good
Reviewed by Melissa DeMoux on Feb 09 2013

Lu’s prose is superb. Her descriptions are authoritative and commanding and her story is clean and crisp. This book will leave readers gasping for the final piece of this project...

Read Full Review of Prodigy: A Legend Novel (Lege...

Wired

Below average
Reviewed by Kathy Ceceri on Mar 05 2013

Prodigy, the second book in the Legend series, is equally well-written and fast-moving. But it falls prey to some of the problems that often beset ongoing series.

Read Full Review of Prodigy: A Legend Novel (Lege...

Alice Marvels

Good
Reviewed by alicemarvels on Jan 29 2013

The action in Legend was thrilling, but this installment ramps it up even more. Lu writes with cinematic style that is particularly effective during complex scenes of tense, nail-biting danger. She seems to have realized this is one of her greatest strengths, because she plays to it often throughout the book.

Read Full Review of Prodigy: A Legend Novel (Lege...

Pretty Books

Good
on Mar 11 2013

Marie Lu takes us through an unpredictable series of events that show that a repressive society is not always black and white, that those who at first seem abhorrent, or righteous, may surprise you.

Read Full Review of Prodigy: A Legend Novel (Lege...

Cuddle Buggery Book Blog

Good
Reviewed by Steph Sinclair on Nov 09 2012

So then when I finished the book and was LEFT ON THE BLOODY CLIFF, I was like, “Marie… no…. you, evil genius… no…” So basically, Marie Lu has me hook, line and sinker. I’m completely enthralled in this series and I can’t wait to see what happens next.

Read Full Review of Prodigy: A Legend Novel (Lege...

Xpresso Reads

Good
Reviewed by Giselle on Jan 22 2013

A sequel worthy of its name, Prodigy not only continues the story of our beloved Day an June, it strengthens and molds it, proving itself to be an essential part of this series.

Read Full Review of Prodigy: A Legend Novel (Lege...

YA Love

Below average
Reviewed by Mrs. Andersen on Apr 22 2013

I didn’t love Prodigy which makes me feel like the only person in the book world who didn’t love it. I can’t even put my finger on what it was missing. A few parts kind of dragged, and it just wasn’t as good as Legend.

Read Full Review of Prodigy: A Legend Novel (Lege...

Heaful of Books

Above average
Reviewed by Anne Bennett on Apr 05 2013

I don't recommend reading a book, especially an action packed book like this one, so slowly. It detracted from the plot and kept me from being completely immersed in the story or tangled up with the characters.

Read Full Review of Prodigy: A Legend Novel (Lege...

On The Wings Of Books

Good
Reviewed by Kimberly on Apr 25 2013

Just like in Legend the world building is fantastic. The remaining questions I had of how the Republic and Colonies were formed and what happened to the rest of the world were answered and I really like what Lu did.

Read Full Review of Prodigy: A Legend Novel (Lege...

The Infinite Curio

Good
Reviewed by Kay on May 03 2013

So, yeah, I like this series. I feel that Prodigy confirms, for me, that it is one of the strongest current dystopia stories on the YA market. I am really, really looking forward to the third book.

Read Full Review of Prodigy: A Legend Novel (Lege...

Carina's Books

Excellent
Reviewed by Carina Olsen on Feb 06 2013

Prodigy was an amazing book. A perfect sequel. I loved all the characters we got to read about, except for Anden, but yeah. We learn more about Day's little brother Eden. And omg. Heartbreak.

Read Full Review of Prodigy: A Legend Novel (Lege...

Fiction Book Review

Below average
Reviewed by Citra Florenca on Apr 03 2013

...I wish I love it, but I have to be honest despite of the raves out there. Now, I find out that there's a third book to be released. I don't think I am interested to continue, though.

Read Full Review of Prodigy: A Legend Novel (Lege...

http://gonewiththewords.com

Good
Reviewed by Jess on Jan 28 2013

I don’t know how to wrap this up properly, but just know that this series is by far one of the best dystopians out there. And this sequel only elevated the series. No sophomore slump for Marie Lu. Nope!!

Read Full Review of Prodigy: A Legend Novel (Lege...

Presenting Lenore

Good
Reviewed by Lenore Appelhans on Aug 07 2012

I had no idea where the story might go after LEGEND, and PRODIGY was full of new, exciting developments. The twists are massive (thus the Zombie Chicken Merit Badge for Twists) and the end was so heartbreaking, I am still recovering.

Read Full Review of Prodigy: A Legend Novel (Lege...

Chapter by Chapter

Good
on Feb 06 2013

I would recommend the Legend series to fans of dystopia, readers that love post-apocalyptic romances and those of us who are looking for a novel that they won’t want to put down and won’t stop thinking about long after finishing.

Read Full Review of Prodigy: A Legend Novel (Lege...

Two Chicks on Books

Excellent
Reviewed by Jaime Arnold on Dec 18 2012

...Holy Crap did shit hit the fan! Pretty much from page one! And yep peeps it’s still in two POV’s and it’s in two different colors again which is awesomesauce!!!!!

Read Full Review of Prodigy: A Legend Novel (Lege...

Christina Reads YA Blog

Good
on Nov 26 2012

Sequels lately have just not been disappointing... I cannot recommend this sequel more. If you liked Legend, you're definitely going to like this action-packed thriller that takes dystopian trilogies to a new level. Oh, and you might not want to miss the bathtub scene either ;).

Read Full Review of Prodigy: A Legend Novel (Lege...

Reader Rating for Prodigy
88%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 2072 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×