Ranger's Apprentice by John Flanagan
Erak's Ransom (, Book 7)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

It was a pleasure to see how focused the story remained on character and character development.
-Chamber Four

Synopsis

The international bestselling series with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. alone!

In the wake of Araluen's uneasy truce with the raiding Skandians comes word that the Skandian leader has been captured by a dangerous desert tribe. The Rangers - and Will - are sent to free him. But the desert is like nothing these warriors have seen before. Strangers in a strange land, they are brutalized by sandstorms, beaten by the unrelenting heat, tricked by one tribe that plays by its own rules, and surprisingly befriended by another. Like a desert mirage, nothing is as it seems. Yet one thing is constant: the bravery of the Rangers.

"Bringing together many favorite characters for a grand adventure, this book delivers both excitement and quiet good times." - Booklist

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.

 

About John Flanagan

See more books from this Author
John Flanagan grew up in Sydney, Australia, hoping to be a writer. John began writing Ranger’s Apprentice for his son, Michael, ten years ago, and is still hard at work on the series and its spinoff, Brotherband Chronicles. He currently lives in the suburb of Manly, Australia, with his wife. In addition to their son, they have two grown daughters and four grandsons.
 
Published December 18, 2009 by Puffin Books. 416 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Ranger's Apprentice
All: 3 | Positive: 3 | Negative: 0

Blog Critics

Above average
Reviewed by Maggie Ball on Oct 21 2011

There is a good mix between action, reflection, and dialogue, and the stories are well written, with the wholesome theme of good conquering evil in a variety of forms.

Read Full Review of Ranger's Apprentice: Erak's R... | See more reviews from Blog Critics

Chamber Four

Good
Reviewed by Arthur McCulloch on Nov 12 2010

It was a pleasure to see how focused the story remained on character and character development.

Read Full Review of Ranger's Apprentice: Erak's R...

KidsReads

Good
Reviewed by Benjamin Boche on Sep 06 2011

Flanagan takes his characters through this period with humor, adventure and ultimately grace.

Read Full Review of Ranger's Apprentice: Erak's R...

Reader Rating for Ranger's Apprentice
90%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 975 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×