Red Dog by Jason Miller
A Slim in Little Egypt Mystery (Slim in Little Egypt Mysteries)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

Slim cracks wise, gives and takes beatings and insults, and gets just enough help to survive in this tale sure to please fans of light regional mysteries.
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

Pitbull fighters, shadowy ne’er-do-wells, and murder mark Jason Miller’s wry, darkly atmospheric second novel in his Little Egypt series—perfect for fans of Frank Bill and Greg Iles.

One hot summer day, in his home in the southern Illinois coal country known as Little Egypt—a Midwest Gothic wonderland of barren vistas, sinister hollows, petty corruption, and deeply strange characters—the self-appointed “redneck detective” known as Slim gets a visit from a shady-looking pair who introduce themselves as Sheldon Cleaves and his son, A. Evan, looking to hire him to find a missing dog. As a miner with a reputation for “bloodhounding”—tracking down missing persons the police can’t find or won’t—Slim is accustomed to looking for people, not pets. On the other hand, he needs the cash to fix his air conditioner. But when he pulls the thread that leads to the Cleaveses’ red-haired purebred pitbull—and then the dognapper is discovered with his head blown off—Slim finds himself plunged into a world of underground dogfights and white supremacists. . .  all because he just wanted to get cool.

As bitingly funny as it is starkly violent, Red Dog marks the emergence of a new, gritty voice in detective fiction. 

 

About Jason Miller

See more books from this Author
Jason Miller, PAHM is a healthcare attorney and writer who focuses on an array of healthcare issues with particular emphasis on the PPACA.
 
Published August 23, 2016 by Harper Paperbacks. 352 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Red Dog
All: 2 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 1

Publishers Weekly

Good
on Aug 25 2017

Slim cracks wise, gives and takes beatings and insults, and gets just enough help to survive in this tale sure to please fans of light regional mysteries.

Read Full Review of Red Dog: A Slim in Little Egy... | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Washington Times

Above average
Reviewed by Oline H. Cogdill on Sep 06 2016

Slim is easy to root for, but we want to know more about what makes him tick. Some of the strongest scenes are between him and whip-smart Anci. But Slim’s perpetual wisecracks grow weary and slow down the story.

Read Full Review of Red Dog: A Slim in Little Egy... | See more reviews from Washington Times

Reader Rating for Red Dog
95%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 6 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×