Riders in the Sky by Charles Grant
(Millennium Quartet)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



It is the time of the Millennium, of great battles between good and evil. The hoofbeats of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse herald the last days of Mankind. Riders in the Sky The Conclusion of the Millennium Quartet "War" The four novels of the Millennium Quartet reveal the cataclysms that await mankind at the turn of the century and vividly tell of the effects of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse as they wreak havoc on the world. Death spread a wide swath of violence over the planet. Famine devastated crops, fish, and domesticated animals. Plague returned as a mutated version of smallpox and decimated the remaining human population. Still, mankind has struggled on, most people completely unaware that they have experienced the effects of the Horsemen and not merely a combination of bad weather and freak genetics. Most people, but not all. These are the survivors, no longer completely human and the only people who can stand against the Horsemen: A preacher given the power to stop Death. Two teenagers who can see the truth in anyone's heart. A mother and her two daughters, who saw the man they all loved sacrifice himself to save them from Plague. A waitress who has decided she can't wait any longer. A would-be writer whose young son has become Famine. The young widow of a British nobleman--the only person who knows the earthly identities of all four Horsemen--has brought them all together. Now they prepare to do battle. With War as their leader, the Horsemen are preparing to lay waste to the world. They have gathered for a final strategy session on an isolated island in the Atlantic. But their coming is no longer secret, and they are no longer unopposed. The defenders of mankind are coming. They may well fail to defeat the Apocalypse. But if so, they will die trying.

About Charles Grant

See more books from this Author
Charles Grant has won three World Fantasy Awards, two Nebula Awards, and a Life Achievement Award from the British Fantasy Society, and been named a Grand Master of Horror, all for his contributions to the genres of horror and dark fantasy as both writer and editor. Editor of the award-winning "Shadows" anthology series and of the shared-world anthology series that began with "Greystone Bay," Grant has written several bestselling novels, including "The X-Files: Whirlwind, The X-Files: Goblins, "and" The Pet," Other novels include "Jackals, Raven, The Nestling," and volumes in the "Millennium Quartet," which begins with "Symphony," Using pseudonyms, including Timothy Boggs, Lionel Fenn, and Geoffrey Marsh, Grant writes humorous fantasy, action-adventure, and occasionally science fiction. Grant and his wife, author/editor Kathryn Ptacek, live in New Jersey.
Published December 13, 1999 by Forge Books. 304 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Horror, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Riders in the Sky

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Last chord in Grant’s Millennium Quartet, a combo featuring the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse that began with Symphony (1997), in which the end of the world was seemingly foretold by such harbingers of doom as a Lincoln Continental (“silver horse in full gallop fixed on the hood”) as Death, the...

| Read Full Review of Riders in the Sky (Millennium...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Plot twists and turns reveal that Cutler is the puppet of a gang of evildoers, human incarnations of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, who are trying to draw out Casey Chisholm, a righteous ex-minister with a miraculous healing touch who awaits his destiny working as a handyman on the island.

| Read Full Review of Riders in the Sky (Millennium...

Reader Rating for Riders in the Sky

An aggregated and normalized score based on 7 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review