River of Destiny by Barbara Erskine

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating

Synopsis

From the bestselling author of Time’s Legacy and Lady of Hay comes a thrilling new novel, River of Destiny, an epic story that spans Anglo Saxon Britain, Victorian Suffolk and the present day.

Perfect for fans of Kate Mosse’s Labyrinth.

An Anglo Saxon burial ground that must not be disturbed.
A Victorian tragedy of forbidden love.
And an ancient curse whose power grows ever stronger…

On the banks of the River Deben lies a set of barns dating back to the Anglo Saxons, and within their walls secrets have laid buried for centuries.

Zoe and Ken have just moved into one of the barns, ready to start a new life away from the hustle and bustle of the city. To the outside world they seem like an ordinary couple, but underneath they are growing ever more distant by the day. And the strange presence Zoe feels within their home, and the shapes she sees through the cloying mists on the river are getting harder to ignore.

Whilst farmers are ploughing the land surrounding them, human bones are found and when the police arrive it becomes clear that the remains are much older than first suspected… Are they linked to a Victorian tragedy the locals whisper about? And what should they make of the grassy mound which has remained untouched across many centuries, but has now been disturbed with seemingly devastating consequences?

 

About Barbara Erskine

See more books from this Author
An historian by training, Barbara Erskine is the author of three collections of short stories, and eleven bestselling novels that demonstrate her interest in both history and the supernatural. Lady of Hay, her first novel, has now sold over two million copies worldwide. She lives with her family in an ancient manor house near Colchester, and a cottage near Hay-on-Wye.
 
Published July 5, 2012 by HarperCollins. 497 pages
Genres: History, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense. Fiction

Reader Rating for River of Destiny
82%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 59 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review