Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

Clean, bright illustrations evince the familiar emotions and bring the pathos to life in a way that text alone could not. Fans of Raina Telgemeier or Jimmy Gownley's Amelia series should certainly skate on over to this gem.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile

For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high!) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school… in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverence, and girl power!


From the Trade Paperback edition.
 

About Victoria Jamieson

See more books from this Author
Victoria Jamieson (www.victoriajamieson.com) received her BFA in Illustration from the Rhode Island School of Design. She worked as a children’s book designer before moving to Portland, Oregon and becoming a freelance illustrator.
 
Published March 10, 2015 by Dial Books. 240 pages
Genres: Comics & Graphic Novels, Children's Books, Sports & Outdoors, Education & Reference.
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Roller Girl
All: 3 | Positive: 3 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Excellent
on Dec 06 2014

Clean, bright illustrations evince the familiar emotions and bring the pathos to life in a way that text alone could not. Fans of Raina Telgemeier or Jimmy Gownley's Amelia series should certainly skate on over to this gem.

Read Full Review of Roller Girl | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Excellent
on Jan 23 2015

Jamieson’s full-color cartooning has a Sunday comics vibe, and her pacing is faultless. Astrid struggles to do right as she tries to understand her soured friendship with Nicole, and she narrates her own failures with heartwarming candor...

Read Full Review of Roller Girl | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by Sarah Donaldson on Jun 27 2017

Astrid, by turns sardonic, brave and utterly bewildered, is perceptively drawn. And the contact sport of roller derby (relatively little known in the UK) makes for a fascinating setting.

Read Full Review of Roller Girl | See more reviews from Guardian

Reader Rating for Roller Girl
90%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 292 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×