Rooms by Lauren Oliver
A Novel

72%

6 Critic Reviews

She's able to take the tropes of the traditional ghost story and give them new energy by creating ghosts who are realistic but still terrifyingly paranormal. The story is well-served by Oliver’s sense of drama,...This satisfying novel will be enjoyed by Oliver’s fans and bring new ones to the fold.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways.

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance.

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb.

The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. When a new ghost appears, and Trenton begins to communicate with her, the spirit and human worlds collide—with cataclysmic results.

Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.

 

About Lauren Oliver

See more books from this Author
Lauren Oliver burst onto the scene with her first novel, the New York Times bestseller Before I Fall. This was followed by her stunning Delirium, which ALA Booklist called "another deft blend of realism and fantasy." A graduate of the University of Chicago and the MFA program at New York University, Lauren lives in Brooklyn, New York. Liesl & Po is her first novel for younger readers.
 
Published September 23, 2014 by Ecco. 325 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Horror, Literature & Fiction, Religion & Spirituality. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Rooms
All: 6 | Positive: 5 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Above average
on Jul 24 2014

She's able to take the tropes of the traditional ghost story and give them new energy by creating ghosts who are realistic but still terrifyingly paranormal. The story is well-served by Oliver’s sense of drama,...This satisfying novel will be enjoyed by Oliver’s fans and bring new ones to the fold.

Read Full Review of Rooms: A Novel | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Excellent
on Jun 02 2014

Oliver makes vivid use of both dead and living characters—all of whom are trapped in the past and striving toward a happier existence—to narrate her intricate, suspenseful story. The house’s breathing residents and ghosts alike find freedom, and the story culminates with an ending that arrives in dramatic and surprising ways.

Read Full Review of Rooms: A Novel | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

NPR

Good
Reviewed by Alaya Dawn Johnson on Sep 29 2014

This is Rooms at its best, taking the stories of Alice and Sandra and the Walkers and fitting what seemed so separate together like a puzzle ring.

Read Full Review of Rooms: A Novel | See more reviews from NPR

Star Tribune

Above average
Reviewed by Cindy Wolfe Boynton on Oct 04 2014

Imaginative and engaging, “Rooms” tells the story of several generations of people who have lived in the home of recently deceased Richard Walker...Cleverly imagined and plotted, “Rooms” is not so much a ghost story as an often-surprising drama that seamlessly weaves the supernatural with the everyday.

Read Full Review of Rooms: A Novel | See more reviews from Star Tribune

AV Club

Below average
Reviewed by Noah Cruickshank on Sep 22 2014

Ultimately, Rooms is a frustrating read, a book that has promise but fails in its execution. Ostensibly Oliver’s two spirits are at its center, but as she ever-widens her gaze, they recede into the periphery, until it’s not clear why they’re there at all.

Read Full Review of Rooms: A Novel | See more reviews from AV Club

Toronto Star

Above average
Reviewed by Alex Good on Mar 05 2015

But if Oliver’s novel is a throwback, it’s still an honest and effective one that makes interesting and imaginative use of its traditional genre elements. A pulpy page-turner that only comes undone a bit at the end, it makes the reader feel a touch of nostalgia for the anxious dreads of yesteryear.

Read Full Review of Rooms: A Novel | See more reviews from Toronto Star

Reader Rating for Rooms
65%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 145 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×