Rough Beauty by Karen Auvinen
Forty Seasons of Mountain Living

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

The author has served a long apprenticeship—sensing life’s patterns, becoming embedded in a human community, learning to give and receive love—and the result is a beautiful story of resilience perfect for readers of Terry Tempest Williams. A fine example of the hybrid nature-memoir.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

In the bestselling tradition of Cheryl Strayed’s Wild and Helen MacDonald’s H Is for Hawk, a stunning, inspirational memoir from an award-winning poet who ventures into the wilderness to seek answers to life’s big questions and finds her way back after losing everything she thought she needed.

During a difficult time, Karen Auvinen flees to a primitive cabin in the Rockies to live in solitude as a writer and to embrace all the beauty and brutality nature has to offer. When a fire incinerates every word she has ever written and all of her possessions—except for her beloved dog Elvis, her truck, and a few singed artifacts—Karen embarks on a heroic journey to reconcile her desire to be alone with her need for community.

In the evocative spirit of works by Annie Dillard, Gretel Ehrlich, and Mary Oliver, Karen’s rich and compulsively readable memoir is as much an inward as it is an outward pilgrimage. Her pursuit of solace and salvation by shedding trivial ties and living in close harmony with nature, along with her account of finding community and love, is sure to resonate with all of us who long for meaning and deeper connection. Rough Beauty is a luminous, lyric exploration of and homage to her forty seasons in the mountains, embracing the unpredictability and grace of living intimately with the forces of nature while making peace with her own wildness.
 

About Karen Auvinen

See more books from this Author
 
Published June 5, 2018 by Scribner. 320 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Travel. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Rough Beauty
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Excellent
on Mar 19 2018

The author has served a long apprenticeship—sensing life’s patterns, becoming embedded in a human community, learning to give and receive love—and the result is a beautiful story of resilience perfect for readers of Terry Tempest Williams. A fine example of the hybrid nature-memoir.

Read Full Review of Rough Beauty: Forty Seasons o... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for Rough Beauty
94%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 9 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review