Ruddy Gore by Kerry Greenwood
(Phryne Fisher Mysteries)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Phryne Fisher is trying to enjoy a gala performance of Gilbert and Sullivan's Ruddigore at His Majesty's Theatre, but there are dark doings afoot. The leading man is poisoned, followed by his understudy, then a massive curtain weight crushes a company member to a pulp. It certainly looks as if someone has it in for the production, but the show must go on! Murder and poison make this a case for the Melbourne police, but as a friend of the troupe's manager, Phryne can't help but become involved. The specter of a deceased actress haunts the theater, gloves go missing, whiskey goes green, the elusive scent of hyacinths wafts though the wings, a child with a tell-tale birthmark is sought. And, love appears to be blossoming between Phryne and the handsome young scion of a Chinese merchant family.

Fans of Gilbert and Sullivan will particularly enjoy this, the seventh of Greenwood's popular Phryne Fisher mysteries set in 1920's Australia.
 

About Kerry Greenwood

See more books from this Author
Kerry Greenwood is the author of more than 40 novels and six non-fiction books. Among her many honors, Ms. Greenwood has received the Ned Kelly Lifetime Achievement Award from the Crime Writers’ Association of Australia. When she is not writing she is an advocate in Magistrates’ Courts for the Legal Aid Commission. She is not married, has no children and lives with a registered Wizard.
 
Published January 11, 2012 by Poisoned Pen Press. 216 pages
Genres: History, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Crime. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Ruddy Gore

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Private eye Phryne is immediately enlisted by her friend, company manager Sir Bernard Tarrant, to look into the many tricks being played on cast members.

May 01 2005 | Read Full Review of Ruddy Gore (Phryne Fisher Mys...

Reviewing the Evidence

Let me begin by stating that this is not Greenwood's best Phryne Fisher mystery.

| Read Full Review of Ruddy Gore (Phryne Fisher Mys...

Reader Rating for Ruddy Gore
87%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 67 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review