Rump by Liesl Shurtliff
The True Story of elstiltskin

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 8 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

This funny fractured fairy tale goes behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. "A most magical feat," writes Newbery Honor-winner Kirby Larson, "Liesl Shurtliff spins words into gold."

In a magic kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone's joke. But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change. Rump discovers he has a gift for spinning straw into gold. His best friend, Red Riding Hood, warns him that magic is dangerous, and she’s right. With each thread he spins, he weaves himself deeper into a curse.

To break the spell, Rump must go on a perilous quest, fighting off pixies, trolls, poison apples, and a wickedly foolish queen. The odds are against him, but with courage and friendship—and a cheeky sense of humor—he just might triumph in the end.

A Texas Bluebonnet Master List Selection, Rump is perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted or Adam Gidwitz's A Tale Dark and Grimm.

"Lighthearted and inventive, Rump amusingly expands a classic tale." —Brandon Mull, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fablehaven.


From the Hardcover edition.
 

About Liesl Shurtliff

See more books from this Author
Liesl Shurtliff was born and raised in Salt Lake City, Utah, with the mountains for her playground. Just like Rump, Liesl was shy about her name, growing up. Not only did it rhyme with weasel, she could never find it on any of those personalized key chains in gift shops. But over the years she's grown to love having an unusual name-and today she wouldn't change it for the world! Before she became a writer, Liesl graduated from Brigham Young University with a degree in music, dance, and theater. She now lives in Chicago with her husband and three young children, where she still dreams of the mountains. Rump is her first novel.
 
Published April 9, 2013 by Knopf Books for Young Readers. 274 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Rump

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Shurtliff turns the Rumpelstiltskin tale on end, providing the heartbreaking yet humorous history of the manikin's dilemma.

Feb 27 2013 | Read Full Review of Rump: The True Story of Rumpe...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Debut author Shurtliff upends the traditional characterization of this fairy tale's antihero, recasting Rumpelstiltskin as a sympathetic and tragically doomed protagonist. His mother dies shortly afte

Mar 22 2013 | Read Full Review of Rump: The True Story of Rumpe...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Debut author Shurtliff upends the traditional characterization of this fairy tale's antihero, recasting Rumpelstiltskin as a sympathetic and tragically doomed protagonist. His mother dies shortly afte

Mar 25 2013 | Read Full Review of Rump: The True Story of Rumpe...

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Shurtliff turns the Rumpelstiltskin tale on end, providing the heartbreaking yet humorous history of the manikin's dilemma.

Mar 26 2013 | Read Full Review of Rump: The True Story of Rumpe...

Christian Science Monitor

When first they see him spinning straw into gold, Rump tries to make himself feel better, arguing that they couldn't really know what he is doing.

May 01 2013 | Read Full Review of Rump: The True Story of Rumpe...

City Book Review

You might guess what his whole name is from the title and other stories about him, but you’ll never know why his full name is what it is unless you read the book.

Jul 19 2013 | Read Full Review of Rump: The True Story of Rumpe...

https://www.commonsensemedia.org

But the magic has its own harsh set of rules that can't be broken and create terrible consequences for Rump and those around him -- and attracts the attention of the greedy town miller and the gold-obsessed king.

Mar 05 2015 | Read Full Review of Rump: The True Story of Rumpe...

Kiwi Magazine Online

This clever tale recreates Rumpelstiltskin, an old folk tale, into a thrilling story full of pixies, trolls, a mean queen, and gold.

| Read Full Review of Rump: The True Story of Rumpe...

Reader Rating for Rump
89%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 209 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×