Sarah Orne Jewett by Sarah Orne Jewett
Novels and Stories : Deephaven / A Country Doctor / The Country of the Pointed Firs / Dunnet Landing Stories / Selected Stories & Sketches (Library of America)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


All of Jewett's best fiction, including her three novels, "Deephaven," "A Country Doctor," and "The Country of the Pointed Firs," and 28 funny, satirical, and poignant sketches and stories. Set against long Maine winters, hardscrabble farms, and the sea, Jewett's stories of gruff, capable farmers and seafolk--and of the rewards and trials of family and communal ties--have a very modern resonance. This comprehensive collection reveals the full stature of the unjustly neglected writer Willa Cather ranked with Mark Twain and Nathaniel Hawthorne.

About Sarah Orne Jewett

See more books from this Author
Published February 1, 1994 by Library of America. 950 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Reader Rating for Sarah Orne Jewett

An aggregated and normalized score based on 5 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review