Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

"Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna.

"Every-single-day," she answers. "Papa sang, too."

This Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

 

About Patricia MacLachlan

See more books from this Author
Author Patricia MacLachlan was born in Cheyenne, Wyoming on March 3, 1938. She received a B.A. from the University of Connecticut in 1962 and taught English at a junior high school until 1979. She began writing picture books and novels at the age of thirty-five. She won the Golden Kite Award for Arthur, for the Very First Time and the 1986 Newbery Medal for Sarah, Plain and Tall. Her other well-known books include The Facts and Fictions of Minna Pratt, Skylark, Journey, Baby, and Three Names. She currently lives in Williamsburg, Massachusetts with her husband. Tim Jessell is the illustrator of many books for children. He lives in Stillwater, Oklahoma, with his wife and children.
 
Published June 25, 2013 by HarperCollins. 76 pages
Genres: Children's Books, Literature & Fiction, Education & Reference, Parenting & Relationships. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Sarah, Plain and Tall

Common Sense Media

Reading this book reminds us of the qualities that have made her, ever since the publication of the first book in this series, Sarah, Plain and Tall, one of our most beloved authors: the heartstoppingly lyrical prose, the simple, gentle stories and kind characters, the lack of villains or trumped...

Aug 05 2004 | Read Full Review of Sarah, Plain and Tall

Reader Rating for Sarah, Plain and Tall
81%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 389 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×