Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Before there was Eleanor and Park, there was Francesca and Will.

A compelling story of romance, family, and friendship, with humor and heart, perfect for fans of If I Stay, The Spectacular Now, and Looking for Alaska.

Francesca is stuck at St. Sebastian’s, a boys' school that pretends it's coed by giving the girls their own bathroom.  Her only female companions are an ultra-feminist, a rumored slut, and an impossibly dorky accordion player.  The boys are no better, from Thomas, who specializes in musical burping, to Will, the perpetually frowning, smug moron that Francesca can't seem to stop thinking about.
 
Then there's Francesca's mother, who always thinks she knows what's best for Francesca—until she is suddenly stricken with acute depression, leaving Francesca lost, alone, and without an inkling of who she really is.  Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, her social life, and—hardest of all—herself.

Melina Marchetta is the Printz-winning author of Jellicoe Road, as well as Looking for Alibrandi and Finnikin of the Rock.
 

About Melina Marchetta

See more books from this Author
Melina Marchetta is the acclaimed and award-winning author of Jellicoe Road, which won the Michael L. Printz Award; Saving Francesca and its companion novel, The Piper's Son; Looking for Alibrandi; and the first two volumes in the Lumatere chronicles, Finnikin of the Rock and Froi of the Exiles. She lives in Australia.
 
Published December 18, 2007 by Knopf Books for Young Readers. 258 pages
Genres: Young Adult, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Saving Francesca

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Sparkling dialogue and engaging characters make this Australian import a pleasure to read.

May 20 2010 | Read Full Review of Saving Francesca

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Sixteen-year-old Francesca's compelling voice will carry readers along during a transitional year in her family and school life. The narrator's vivacious mother falls into a deep depression

Sep 06 2004 | Read Full Review of Saving Francesca

RT Book Reviews

RT Book Reviews © 2009 - 2013.

| Read Full Review of Saving Francesca

Curled Up With a Good Kid's Book

*Saving Francesca* by Melina Marchetta - young adult book review ... Saving
Francesca is a novel about love, family, friends, and so many other parts of life.

Feb 10 2013 | Read Full Review of Saving Francesca

Reader Rating for Saving Francesca
87%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 112 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×