Scratch Sides by Kristin Prevallet
Poetry, Documentation, and Image-Text Projects

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



Poetry. Art. The poems in SCRATCH SIDES, which Prevallet refers to as her Image-Text Projects, address wide-ranging topics, from love and politics to chance encounters on the street. Prevallet has been contemplating these themes throughout her many years as a poet and co-editor of the literary magazine 'Apex of the M'. "Walking down the street, one inevitably encounters a wide range of passers-by. Eye contact usually results in an immediate lowering of the eyes, to assure the person with whom eye contact was made that the glance was absolutely accidental" - from "Passers-by." Accompanied by documentary style photographs as well as charts and graphs.

About Kristin Prevallet

See more books from this Author
Kristin Prevallet (born in 1966 in Denver) is an American poet and essayist who currently lives and works in New York City. Prevallet studied with Robert Creeley at SUNY Buffalo and has described herself as working in the tradition of William Carlos Williams, Charles Olson and the ongoing stream of American high modernists. In recent years, she has appeared regularly at the Bowery Poetry Club, the venue which defined the New York downtown poetry scene in the late 90s and early 00s. In her academic life, she has taught at Bard College, The New School for Social Research, and currently at St. John's University in Queens. She has also lectured and performed frequently at the Jack Kerouac School at Naropa University (formerly The Naropa Institute) in Boulder, Colorado.
Published January 1, 2002 by Skanky Possum. 77 pages
Genres: Arts & Photography, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Scratch Sides

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

With Perturbation, My Sister (1997), Prevallet wrote through Max Ernst's collage work La femme 100 têtes, sharply turning the tables on gendered Surrealist abjection with nine sections of prose fiction "gently laughing as fires burn through brick, and rioters collapse in exclamatory fits."

| Read Full Review of Scratch Sides: Poetry, Docume...

Rate this book!

Add Review