Scream at the Sky by Carlton Stowers
Five Texas Murders and One Man's Crusade for Justice

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews



Carlton Stowers, the two-time Edgar Award winner and New York Times bestselling master of true crime, is back. Scream at the Sky is his masterful chronicle of one man's murderous career, and another man's sworn promise to deliver justice and closure to the people of Texas.
Wichita Falls, Texas, was home to a hundred thousand people in the last months of 1984. That winter was harsh, as the normally arid Texas plains gave way to ominous dark clouds that delivered freezing sleet and rain. But a much darker force was looming, and soon the quiet town was besieged by a faceless evil--and its young women were dying because of it.
In the next seventeen months five women were found brutally beaten and murdered, their young lives cut short and their bodies left haphazardly where they fell. In the years that followed, grieving families fruitlessly sought answers. A haunted district attorney chased every lead only to meet one dead end after another. And the killer's identity remained unknown to the ravaged townspeople.

Then, fourteen years after the killing started, an investigator who had been assigned the cold case brought to it a renewed dedication, and came upon a chance discovery. Searching through the yellowed case files, he caught a minor detail that suggested one more suspect. Faryion Wardrip was an unhappily married family man who drowned his anger in substance abuse and violent fantasies. But for five unfortunate families, the drugs sometimes took over and the fantasies became realities.

Investigator John Little followed his instincts and tirelessly ruled out every possibility until he was left with but one conclusion: Faryion Wardrip was the serial killer who had eluded his office for so long. How he tracked down Wardrip and used the legal system to beat the killer at his own game of deception is a remarkable story of justice served.

About Carlton Stowers

See more books from this Author
Carlton Stowers is the author of more than two dozen works of nonfiction, including the Edgar Award-winning Careless Whispers, the Pulitzer Prize-nominated Innocence Lost, and Open Secrets. He and his wife live in Cedar Hill, Texas.
Published January 23, 2003 by St. Martin's Press. 256 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Political & Social Sciences. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Scream at the Sky

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

True-crime veteran Stowers (To the Last Breath, 1998, etc.) relates the grisly tale of a Texas serial killer who dodged justice for too long.

May 20 2010 | Read Full Review of Scream at the Sky: Five Texas...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Rural Texas endures a long-unsolved serial killing spree, in this grim suspenser by Edgar Award–winner Stowers (Open Secrets; etc.). The narrative begins

Dec 02 2002 | Read Full Review of Scream at the Sky: Five Texas...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In a classic instance of "murder will out," however, a hungry young district attorney's investigator named John Little begins working the long-unsolved murders in December 1999 and soon gleans a crucial clue from old reports that might tie Wardrip to the other murders.

| Read Full Review of Scream at the Sky: Five Texas...

Reader Rating for Scream at the Sky

An aggregated and normalized score based on 22 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review