Searching for Pemberley by Mary Lydon Simonsen

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


"History, romance, and even a little mystery all combined in one wonderful book." -Best Sellers World, Five Star Review

Maggie went in search of a love story, but she never expected to find her own...

Desperate to escape her life in a small Pennsylvania mining town, Maggie Joyce accepts a job in post-World War II London, hoping to find adventure. While touring Derbyshire, she stumbles upon the stately Montclair, rumored by locals to be the inspiration for Pemberley, the centerpiece of Jane Austen's beloved Pride and Prejudice.

Determined to discover the truth behind the rumors, Maggie embarks on a journey through the letters and journals of Montclair's former owners, the Lacey family, searching for signs of Darcy and Elizabeth.

But when the search introduces her to both a dashing American pilot and a handsome descendant of the "Darcy" line, Maggie must decide how her own love story will end.

Perfect for fans of Death Comes to Pemberley.

Praise for Searching for Pemberley:
"A shining addition to the world of historical fiction."- Curled Up With A Good Book
"A resounding success on all levels."- Roundtable Reviews

"A precious jewel of a novel with a strong love story and page-turning mystery. Absorbing, amusing, and very cleverly written."- The Searcher


About Mary Lydon Simonsen

See more books from this Author
Mary Lydon Simonsen is the author of two Regency Austen re-imaginings, The Perfect Bride for Mr. Darcy and A Wife for Mr. Darcy, and a Jane Austen historical romance, Searching for Pemberley, which was acclaimed by Booklist, Publishers Weekly, and RT Book Reviews. She is well loved and widely followed on all the Jane Austen fanfic sites, with tens of thousands of hits and hundreds of reviews whenever she posts. The author lives in Arizona.
Published December 1, 2009 by Sourcebooks Landmark. 498 pages
Genres: History, Romance, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Reader Rating for Searching for Pemberley

An aggregated and normalized score based on 40 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review