Searching for Virginia Dare by Marjorie Hudson
A Fool's Errand

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

Four centuries of powerful myth surround the infant Virginia Dare. Abandoned by England in 1587 and left to fend for themselves in the Carolina wilderness, Virginia and more than a hundred other colonists disappeared, leaving behind only scattered clues about their fate. Some say the Lost Colony survived by joining local Native American tribes. Some say Virginia Dare’s descendants still walk among us. Will we ever really know?

Following back roads and cold trails, author Marjorie Hudson stands toe to toe with the bones of English settlers and joins generations of historians, archeologists, and obsessed amateurs in seeking an answer to the mystery: What became of Virginia Dare and her family?

An unconventional look at history, Searching for Virginia Dare moves from research to reflection, and brings the author face to face with her own life’s journey—the painful loss of a child, and family stories that, as an adult, she is only now beginning to understand. From laughter, to grief, to revelation, Searching for Virginia Dare is a unique narrative about the things that haunt us all.

In the tradition of William Least Heat Moon’s Blue Highways, Hudson’s story is a spellbinding journey, an invitation into a deeper understanding of America and ourselves.

 

About Marjorie Hudson

See more books from this Author
Hudson holds an MFA in Creative Writing from Warren Wilson College. She has worked as features editor of National Parks magazine, contributing editor of American Land Forum, and freelance contributor to many journals and magazines on the subjects of history, environment, and the arts.
 
Published April 1, 2002 by Coastal Carolina Press. 181 pages
Genres: History, Education & Reference. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Searching for Virginia Dare

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In 1587, before Plymouth Rock and Jamestown, three English ships filled with stouthearted men, women and children landed on Roanoke Island, off the coast of North Carolina. Within two months, a chi

Mar 18 2002 | Read Full Review of Searching for Virginia Dare: ...

Reader Rating for Searching for Virginia Dare
80%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 14 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review