Selected Poems 1965-1990 by Marilyn Hacker

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


Here is a rich collection of work from five books by one of America's most controversial poets.

Marilyn Hacker's poems have been praised for their technical virtuosity, forthright feminism, political acuity, and unabashed eroticism.

Included are selections from Hacker's first book, Presentation Piece (1974), the Lamont Poetry Selection of the Academy of American Poets and a National Book Award Winner; Separations (1976); Taking Notice (1980), which was claimed as an integral part of the burgeoning feminist and lesbian canon; Assumptions (1985), which explored the conundrums of gender, race, and identity in contemporary life; and Going Back to the River (1990), which received a Lambda Literary Award.

About Marilyn Hacker

See more books from this Author
Marilyn Hacker is the recipient of the National Book Award, the PEN Award for Poetry in Translation, the Robert Fagles Translation Prize, and the PEN/Voelcker Award for Poetry. Her collection Winter Names received a Lambda Literary Award and the Lenore Marshall Award of the Academy of American Poets. Her most recent collection of poetry was Names. She lives in Paris, France.
Published October 17, 1994 by W. W. Norton & Company. 288 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Gay & Lesbian. Non-fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review