Selected Poems Of Janet Lewis by Janet Lewis

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



Since the appearance in print of her early poems over seventy-five years ago, the poetry of Janet Lewis has grown in quiet acclaim and popularity. Although she is better known as a novelist of historical fiction, her first and last writings were poems. With the publication of her selected poems, Swallow Press celebrates the distinguished career of one of its most cherished authors.

Critics as disparate as Kenneth Rexroth, Timothy Steele, Theodore Roethke, Larry McMurtry, N. Scott Momaday, and Dana Gioia have sung the praises of her work over the decades. Her career as a poet was remarkable not only for its longevity but also for the fact that even well into her tenth decade she wrote poems that stand with her very best work.

Characterized by the vigor and sharpness of her images and the understated lyricism that permeates her rhythmic lines, The Selected Poems of Janet Lewis is a survey of modern poetry unto itself.

About Janet Lewis

See more books from this Author
Romance author Jayne Ann Krentz was born in Borrego Springs, California on March 28, 1948. She received a B.A. in history from the University of California at Santa Cruz and a Masters degree in library science from San Jose State University. Before becoming a full-time author, she worked as a librarian. Her novels include: Truth or Dare, All Night Long, and Copper Beach. She has written under seven different names: Jayne Bentley, Amanda Glass, Stephanie James, Jayne Taylor, Jayne Castle, Amanda Quick and Jayne Ann Krentz. Her first book, Gentle Pirate, was published in 1980 under the name Jayne Castle. She currently uses only three personas to represent her three specialties. She uses the name Jayne Ann Krentz for her contemporary pieces, Amanda Quick for her historical fiction pieces, and Jayne Castle for her futuristic pieces. She has received numerous awards for her work including the 1995 Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award for Trust Me, the 2004 Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award for Falling Awake, the Romantic Times Career Achievement Award, the Romantic Times Jane Austen Award, and the Susan Koppelman Award for Feminist Studies for Dangerous Men and Adventurous Women: Romance Writers on the Appeal of the Romance.
Published July 17, 2000 by Swallow Press. 142 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Selected Poems Of Janet Lewis

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

The early lyric ""Days"" reads, in its entirety: ""Swift and subtle/ The flying shuttle/ Crosses the web/ And fills the loom,/ Leaving for range/ Of choice or change/ No room, no room."" The sensibility that produced ""Days"" gave rise to more, and longer, good poems, among them ""Helen Grown Old...

| Read Full Review of Selected Poems Of Janet Lewis

ForeWord Reviews

It is poignant to see the solid early poems chronicling her observations of and obvious passion for Ojibway culture and the landscape of the Great Lakes echoed in the collection’s final poem, “River,” where the speaker revisits the sensory experiences of those days and entreats “Remember for me/ ...

Apr 15 2000 | Read Full Review of Selected Poems Of Janet Lewis

Rate this book!

Add Review