Separate Kingdoms by Valerie Laken
Stories (P.S.)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 10 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

“A work of daunting versatility and technical skill, the product of a writer absolutely at home in the language and working vigorously within both new and old forms.” —Michael Byers, author of Long for this World and The Coast of Good Intentions 

From Pushcart Prize-winner Valerie Laken, author of Dream House, comes a riveting short story collection charting the divisions and collisions between cultures and nations, families and lovers, selves and others in the United States and Russia. In the tradition of Lydia Peelle, Barbara Johnson, and David Mitchell, Laken creates incisive and illuminating portraits of characters coping with loss, estrangement, and disability, confined by their circumstances to separate kingdoms of the heart.

 

About Valerie Laken

See more books from this Author
Valerie Laken teaches at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Her first novel, Dream House, was named of one Booklist's Top Ten First Novels and Kirkus Review's Best Books of 2009.
 
Published March 29, 2011 by HarperCollins e-books. 199 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Separate Kingdoms

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

In "Spectators," Arnie and Marion, a long-married couple, confront Marion's loss of her leg when Arnie encourages a reluctant Marion to participate in a golf tournament for amputees.

| Read Full Review of Separate Kingdoms: Stories (P...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

The stories in Laken's capable follow-up to Dream House are divided among the experimental and the straightforward, the hopeful and the wistful.

Dec 20 2010 | Read Full Review of Separate Kingdoms: Stories (P...

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

There are more stories in Laken’s collection — stories of overcoming isolation and self-inflicted exile, stories of being in the middle of a cultural revolution, stories of missing out on parts of life, stories of the human experience, all exquisitely rendered, and disquietingly lovely.

Apr 20 2011 | Read Full Review of Separate Kingdoms: Stories (P...

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

Between her mother’s denial of her father’s impending death, the constant traffic of bodies moving in and out of the hospital, and Ellie’s faulty memory of her own transgressions, Ellie struggles to see her father wholly, and not just through the eyes of a daughter who has always felt the critica...

Apr 20 2011 | Read Full Review of Separate Kingdoms: Stories (P...

Chicago Tribune

An experimental piece of work that gives us the account of a troubled Midwestern family in a split-screen effect - two parallel narratives about the same events running down the page divided by a dotted vertical line - visually emphasizes the malaise of the soul suffered by most of the characters...

Feb 14 2011 | Read Full Review of Separate Kingdoms: Stories (P...

Journal Sentinel

Valerie Laken hooked me on Page 2 of “Before Long,” the first story in “Separate Kingdoms” (Harper Perennial, $14.99), where Oleg, the sighted Russian boy, is describing a mostly naked woman in a skin mag to Anton, the blind Russian boy.

Apr 07 2011 | Read Full Review of Separate Kingdoms: Stories (P...

MostlyFiction Book Reviews

And then there’s “Before Long,” another story in which a twelve year old blind boy named Anton briefly leaves his orderly and idyllic village life to visit a new American dentist and discovers, “There was no one anywhere, not even the foreigners, who could fix this.” Perhaps, though, the most in...

Mar 30 2011 | Read Full Review of Separate Kingdoms: Stories (P...

Bookmarks Magazine

Publisher: Harper Perennial Product Description “A work of daunting versatility and technical skill, the product of a writer absolutely at home in the language and working vigorously within both new and old forms.” —Mic...

Feb 21 2011 | Read Full Review of Separate Kingdoms: Stories (P...

Fiction Writers Review

This week’s featured title is Valerie Laken’s story collection Separate Kingdoms, which we’re pleased to announce has recently been longlisted for the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award!

Jun 21 2011 | Read Full Review of Separate Kingdoms: Stories (P...

The Anniston Star

At first read, Separate Kingdoms is shaped like any other collection of short stories, but read further and you will begin to notice the small nuances that make it what it is: A complex collection that runs deeper than you first thought.

Sep 02 2011 | Read Full Review of Separate Kingdoms: Stories (P...

Reader Rating for Separate Kingdoms
77%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 9 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×