Shattered Sky by Neal Shusterman
(Star Shards Trilogy, Book 3)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



In this conclusion to The Star Shards Chronicles, powerful and terrifying invaders have arrived from a parallel dimension, and only the Star Shards can prevent the destruction of the human race.

Six children were conceived at the exact moment that the star Mentaras-H went supernova, and the explosion transformed their souls into living star fragments. Now the Star Shards face the ultimate battle—and the true purpose of their gifts be revealed, for it is no accident they have these powers. Once despised for their “deformities,” the Star Shards are now worshiped and feared as gods. Their power is unlimited, as is the temptation to abuse it. But a new and terrifying force has torn a wound in the universe, infecting it like a deadly, intelligent virus. Only one power exists that could conceivably prevent the extermination of the human race: the Star Shards. But only if they can put aside their titanic egos and join forces one final time.

Acclaimed author Neal Shusterman’s “talent for depicting superhuman characters with human strengths and weaknesses lends depth and immediacy to a tale of cosmic proportions” (School Library Journal) in this stunning conclusion to a visionary trilogy.

Originally published by Tor Fantasy in 2002.

About Neal Shusterman

See more books from this Author
Neal Shusterman, New York Times bestselling author, has written more than thirty award-winning books for children, teens, and adults, including Full Tilt, The Skinjacker Trilogy (Everlost, Everwild, and Everfound), Unwind, UnWholly, Bruiser, and The Schwa Was Here, which won the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award for fiction. Several of his books are now in development as feature films. Neal lives in Southern California when he’s not travelling the globe, and can be found online at
Published May 7, 2013 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers. 548 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Young Adult, Literature & Fiction, Horror, Action & Adventure, Children's Books. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Shattered Sky

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Apocalyptic just-about-independently-intelligible final installment of Shusterman's Star Shards trilogy (Scorpion Shards, 1995, and Thief of Souls, not reviewed, were both published as YA titles).

| Read Full Review of Shattered Sky (Star Shards Tr...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

The earlier novels followed the six superhuman "Star Shards"—Dillon, Winston, Michael, Deanna, Tory and Lourdes—into rocky adulthood, and saw the deaths of Deanna, Michael and Tory, even as Dillon, the most powerful of them, became a legendary villain for collapsing the Hoover Dam.

| Read Full Review of Shattered Sky (Star Shards Tr...

Rate this book!

Add Review