Shiloh by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 5 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Marty will do anything to save his new friend Shiloh in this Newbery Medal–winning novel from Phillis Reynolds Naylor.

When Marty Preston comes across a young beagle in the hills behind his home, it's love at first sight—and also big trouble. It turns out the dog, which Marty names Shiloh, belongs to Judd Travers, who drinks too much and has a gun—and abuses his dogs. So when Shiloh runs away from Judd to Marty, Marty just has to hide him and protect him from Judd. But Marty's secret becomes too big for him to keep to himself, and it exposes his entire family to Judd's anger. How far will Marty have to go to make Shiloh his?
 

About Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

See more books from this Author
Phyllis Reynolds Naylor has written more than 135 books, including the Newbery Award–winning Shiloh and the Alice series. She lives in Gaithersburg, Maryland. To hear from Phyllis and find out more about what’s in store for Alice, visit AliceMcKinley.com.
 
Published June 26, 2012 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers. 144 pages
Genres: Nature & Wildlife, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction, Action & Adventure, Education & Reference. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Shiloh

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

A gripping account of a mountain boy's love for a dog he's hiding from its owner.

Jun 24 2010 | Read Full Review of Shiloh

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Subplots and extraneous incidents loosen the story's weave, but Naylor's use of present tense adds immediacy to events, and Marty's path to reconciliation with Judd, and to a parallel truce with his pesky little sister Dara Lynn, will go straight to readers' hearts.

| Read Full Review of Shiloh

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

This 1992 Newbery Medal winner revolves around an 1 1 -year-old boy who finds an abused dog near his West Virginia hills home; PW noted that this heartwarming novel should win new fans for the popular

Jan 01 1992 | Read Full Review of Shiloh

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In the tradition of Sounder and Where the Red Fern Grows comes this boy-and-his-dog story set in rural West Virginia. When he finds a mistreated beagle pup, 11-year-old Marty knows that the animal sho

Sep 30 1991 | Read Full Review of Shiloh

https://www.commonsensemedia.org

And keeping Shiloh away from Judd seems to drag Marty increasingly into behavior that he knows is wrong.

Sep 24 2015 | Read Full Review of Shiloh

Reader Rating for Shiloh
88%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 958 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×