Sidetracked by Francesca Gino
Why Our Decisions Get Derailed, and How We Can Stick to the Plan

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews



You may not realize it but simple, irrelevant factors can have profound consequences on your decisions and behavior, often diverting you from your original plans and desires. Sidetracked will help you identify and avoid these influences so the decisions you make do stick—and you finally reach your intended goals.

Psychologist and Harvard Business School professor Francesca Gino has long studied the factors at play when judgment and decision making collide with the results of our choices in real life. In this book she explores inconsistent decisions played out in a wide range of circumstances—from our roles as consumers and employees (what we buy, how we manage others) to the choices that we make more broadly as human beings (who we date, how we deal with friendships). From Gino’s research, we see when a mismatch is most likely to occur between what we want and what we end up doing. What factors are likely to sway our decisions in directions we did not initially consider? And what can we do to correct for the subtle influences that derail our decisions? The answers to these and similar questions will help you negotiate similar factors when faced with them in the real world.

For fans of Dan Ariely and Daniel Kahneman, this book will help you better understand the nuances of your decisions and how they get derailed—so you have more control over keeping them on track.

About Francesca Gino

See more books from this Author
Francesca Gino is Associate Professor of Business Administration in the Negotiation, Organizations, & Markets Unit at the Harvard Business School. Her research focuses on judgment and decision making, social influence, and ethics and creativity. Her studies have been featured on CNN and NPR, as well as in leading print publications including Economist, Financial Times, New York Times, Newsweek, Scientific American, and Psychology Today. In 2009, the New York Times featured Gino's research in The 9th Annual Year in Ideas.
Published February 12, 2013 by Harvard Business Review Press. 272 pages
Genres: Business & Economics, Self Help. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Sidetracked

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

We’ve all made decisions and plans with the best of intentions: to save for retirement, to search for a better job, to go on a diet. However, we’re surprisingly bad at anticipating our own behavior an

Dec 24 2012 | Read Full Review of Sidetracked: Why Our Decision...

Harvard Business Review

Half of the pairs were accompanied to the table where they would negotiate and told, “It is customary for people to shake hands prior to starting a negotiation.” The other half of the pairs was seated immediately and thus had no opportunity to shake hands.

Jun 04 2014 | Read Full Review of Sidetracked: Why Our Decision...

Harvard Business Review

In a series of studies (pdf), my colleague Joshua Margolis and I have compared the effects of two ways of framing ethical conduct: promotion of being ethical and prevention of being unethical.

Mar 02 2011 | Read Full Review of Sidetracked: Why Our Decision...

Reader Rating for Sidetracked

An aggregated and normalized score based on 58 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review