Silent Enemy by Tom Young

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews



A novel of courage and terror from the author of Sand and Fire and The Warriors...
Estimated time of arrival: Never...
When a terrorist bombing strikes a police training center in Kabul, Afghanistan, many are killed. The wounded, including Sergeant Major Sophia Gold, are loaded onto a C-5 Galaxy bound for Germany. But after takeoff, aircraft commander Michael Parson receives a message: the jihadists have placed bombs on planes leaving Afghanistan—and his is one of them. They are trapped in the air. And if they descend, they will die.As the air­craft deteriorates and the patients grow worse, Parson, Gold, and the crew are pushed to the breaking point—and their biggest challenge has yet to show itself.
For the enemy is already closer than any of them can dare to imagine…
"Fans of Clancy, Coonts, and Dale Brown need to add Young to their must-read lists." (Booklist)


About Tom Young

See more books from this Author
TOM YOUNG has logged nearly 4,000 hours for the Air National Guard in Iraq, Afghanistan, Bosnia, Kosovo, and elsewhere. The author of The Mullah's Storm and Silent Enemy, Young has studied writing at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and the Sewanee Writers' Conference, among other places, and lives in Alexandria, Virginia.
Published August 4, 2011 by Berkley. 307 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Action & Adventure, War, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Silent Enemy

Book Reporter

You will not hear or see a plane flying overhead without thinking of Parson, holding together his C-5 Galaxy with guts, duct tape and baling wire, trying to complete his mission.

Sep 08 2011 | Read Full Review of Silent Enemy

Washington Independent Review of Books

A routine flight from Afghanistan to Germany turns into a pilot’s worst nightmare when Air Force Major Michael Parson discovers he has a bomb on board his C-5 Galaxy cargo plane.

| Read Full Review of Silent Enemy

The Truth About Guns

The author expects the reader to believe that the first time Parsons and Gold meet in four years, since the plain crash that started the events of The Mullah’s Storm, is aboard a different transport plane that has a bomb on it.

Jul 17 2011 | Read Full Review of Silent Enemy

Reader Rating for Silent Enemy

An aggregated and normalized score based on 82 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review