Silent Snow by Steve Thayer

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

The majestically shifting Minnesota weather that dominated Steve Thayer's acclaimed novel The Weatherman swirls eerily through his second equally sophisticated thriller. March first finds Rick Beanblossom, hero of The Weatherman, now St. Paul's top investigative reporter, looking out on the icy, brooding night city. Rick, known as the man without a face--a face he lost to napalm while saving lives in Vietnam--is now married to beautiful anchor Andrea Labore, queen of Sky High News, and father of an infant boy. On Beanblossom's desk tonight lies a strange piece of anonymous mail, a memento of another March first--the date, in 1932, of the famous Lindbergh baby kidnapping.

But this night, at the height of a savage blizzard, Rick's own beloved child will be snatched from his nursery, with his mother only a room away. All Beanblossom's newspaperman instincts tell him the secret of his son's disappearance lies in his past--and so he begins a war on two fronts: to track every lead in the present while he delves into the tortured Lindbergh history and the history of another hard-boiled St. Paul reporter, Grover Mudd for a clue--any clue--that could bring his son back. His investigation, racing through snow against time makes Silent Snow a brilliant new blend of history and fiction for readers of Caleb Carr's The Alienist and Robert Harris's Fatherland.
 

About Steve Thayer

See more books from this Author
Steve Thayer was born in St. Paul, Minnesota on March 23, 1953. He graduated from the American Academy of Dramatic Arts in Pasadena, California in 1976. He started writing his first book, Saint Mudd, in 1982. His other works include The Weatherman and Wheat Field.
 
Published August 1, 1999 by Viking Adult. 416 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Silent Snow

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In this quirky and complex suspense novel, Thayer entangles some of the main characters from his debut thriller, The Weatherman, in a re-creation of the Lindbergh kidnapping in present-day Minnesota.

Aug 02 1999 | Read Full Review of Silent Snow

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

As suspects and subplots accumulate, Thayer inserts a long section set in the 1930s, following Minneapolis reporter Grover Mudd (protagonist of Thayer's first book, Saint Mudd) as he investigates the Lindbergh case.

| Read Full Review of Silent Snow

Entertainment Weekly

SILENT SNOW Steve Thayer (Viking, $24.95) A moody sequel to the 1995 thriller The Weatherman that involves everything but the kitchen sink -- a copycat Lindbergh kidnapping, ghosts, a Nazi femme fatale, a monstrous, black-clad assassin straight out of the WWF -- Silent Snow maneuvers the fine lin...

Aug 20 1999 | Read Full Review of Silent Snow

Reader Rating for Silent Snow
67%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 45 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review