Silhouette by Dave Swavely
A Peacer Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Minority Report meets Blade Runner as a man must solve his daughter's murder only to find that the trail leads right back to himself in Dave Swavely's Silhouette, the first of The Peacer Series



A post-quake San Francisco is ruled by a private corporation called the Bay Area Security Service. Its founder, Saul Rabin, is revered by many as the savior of the city, but by others he is feared and loathed as a fascist tyrant. And because of the cutting-edge antigravity technology being developed by his company, this controversial figure is about to become the most powerful man in the world.



To his protégé, Michael Ares, the old man is a mysterious benefactor whom he respects and admires. But when Michael's daughter and best friend are brutally murdered, he follows a trail of evidence that leads dangerously close to home. Closer than he could ever imagine.



A future world of aerocars, net glasses, and neural cyberware provides the backdrop for this timeless tale of good and evil, revenge and love, infamy and destiny. Fans of Blade Runner and Ghost in the Shell will love this page-turner filled with thought-provoking images of dark shapes which, despite their pain and power, could never blot out the light that surrounds them.


 

About Dave Swavely

See more books from this Author
DAVE SWAVELY is a published author of four nonfiction books who lived in the beautiful Napa Valley for ten years and now resides in lovely Chester County, near Philadelphia. This is his first novel, and the sequel will also be published by Thomas Dunne Books.
 
Published November 13, 2012 by Thomas Dunne Books. 270 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Silhouette

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

According to Paul, Saul had a microchip implanted in Michael’s head, which allows Saul to take control, which explains why Michael has no memory of the incident.

Sep 16 2012 | Read Full Review of Silhouette: A Peacer Novel

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Christian pastor Swavely’s debut offering is a brisk SF thriller set in a near-future San Francisco and tainted by racial and religious stereotypes.

Sep 10 2012 | Read Full Review of Silhouette: A Peacer Novel

SF Crow's Nest

The science fiction element isn’t too unbelievable while the detective aspect isn’t clichéd in any way.

Jan 06 2013 | Read Full Review of Silhouette: A Peacer Novel

Reader Rating for Silhouette
82%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 19 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×