Simple Eyes and Other Poems by Michael McClure
(New Directions Paperbook)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


A direct poetic look at the world features one individual's disquieting and illuminating observations and includes in the title poem reflections on the Persian Gulf War, as well as wars of the spirit, mind, and environment. Original.

About Michael McClure

See more books from this Author
A native midwesterner, Michael McClure is associated with the San Francisco renaissance of the mid 1950's, and his work, in the tradition of Blake and Artaud, is prophetic in tone and usually quite experimental on the printed page. His plays, "The Beard" (1965) and "The Tooth of Crime" are underground theater classics. He is part of the poet's theater movement that was revived in San Francisco in the 1980's.
Published May 1, 1994 by New Directions Publishing Corporation. 134 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review