Skarlet by Thomas Emson
Part One of the Vampire Trinity (Vampire Babylon)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



When a new drug starts turning users into vampires, it’s open season on the living in this action-packed thriller in the tradition of Jonathan Maberry and The Walking Dead


Fear grips London as dozens of people die after taking a sinister new drug called Skarlet. But that's only the beginning. Forty-eight hours later, the dead partiers wake up and begin butchering the living for their blood. Soon, London gives a name to its terror: Vampires.


Jake Lawton, bitter and betrayed after the Iraq War, finds himself fighting another battle - against the growing army of immortal hunters and their human cohorts. Lawton joins forces with the journalist who brought about his downfall and the dealer tricked into distributing the drug. Together they take on the spineless authorities, the ruthless cohorts, and the hungry dead. But the vampire plague unleashed in London is nothing to what lurks beneath the streets.  Waiting to be fed ...Waiting to be resurrected ...Waiting to reign again over a city of human slaves.




About Thomas Emson

See more books from this Author
THOMAS EMSON is a pseudonym for a Welsh writer who lives in Kent. Skarlet is his second English-language novel.
Published October 2, 2012 by St. Martin's Griffin. 380 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Horror, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Skarlet

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Emson (the Vampire Babylon trilogy) feeds fresh blood to the vampire genre in this visceral hybrid of plague, panic, and the paranormal, which launches a series worth watching. Unlikely allies and fer

Aug 06 2012 | Read Full Review of Skarlet: Part One of the Vamp...

Love Vampires

These vampires aren’t the suave, sexy vampires of paranormal romance or urban fantasy but these are much closer to their horror story roots – smelling of rotten blood and decay they are dirty, dishevelled and relentlessly hungry for blood.

Nov 01 2013 | Read Full Review of Skarlet: Part One of the Vamp...

Reader Rating for Skarlet

An aggregated and normalized score based on 5 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review