Skin Deep by Laura Jarratt

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

From Jenna and Ryan comes a story like no other I have ever read. I loved it and I can't stop raving about it. I consumed it in hours. It was gentle and sad and compelling, something in it for everyone to love!
-Guardian

Synopsis

An against-the-odds love story at the heart of a book for teens about prejudice, courage and a dark, compelling mystery.


Ugly people don’t have feelings. They’re not like everyone else. They don’t notice if you stare at them and turn away. And if they did notice, it wouldn’t hurt them. They’re not like real people. Or that’s what I used to think. Before I learned . . . After the car crash that leaves her best friend dead, Jenna is permanently scarred. She struggles to rebuild her life, but every stare in the street, every time she looks in the mirror, makes her want to retreat further from the world. Until she meets Ryan. Ryan's a traveller. When he and his mother moor their narrow boat on the outskirts of a village, she tells him this time it will be different. He doesn't believe her; he can't imagine why this place shouldn't be as unwelcoming as the rest. Until he meets Jenna. But as Jenna and Ryan grow closer, repercussions from the crash continue to reverberate through the community. And then a body is found . . . 


Fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Valentine and Jenny Downham will love Skin Deep.


 

About Laura Jarratt

See more books from this Author
Laura Jarratt was born in Salford and has lived all over the UK. Although her favourite subject was English, she accidentally studied Science at university. She finally settled in rural Cheshire, where she is owned by a ginger cat with no tail. By day, she works in education because it's never boring and by night, she writes for young adults because they're the most interesting people in the world. She is the author of 'Skin Deep' and 'By Any Other Name'.
 
Published March 5, 2012 by Egmont. 384 pages
Genres: Romance, Young Adult, Literature & Fiction, Children's Books. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Skin Deep
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Guardian

Excellent
Reviewed by Tjala on May 06 2012

From Jenna and Ryan comes a story like no other I have ever read. I loved it and I can't stop raving about it. I consumed it in hours. It was gentle and sad and compelling, something in it for everyone to love!

Read Full Review of Skin Deep | See more reviews from Guardian

Reader Rating for Skin Deep
89%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 7 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×