Slingshot by Matthew Dunn
A Spycatcher Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

Perhaps more cerebral and less breathtaking then Spycatcher but as rewarding as championship bridge.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

Matthew Dunn uses his experience as a former MI6 field officer to bring transfixing realism to Slingshot, his third Spycatcher novel featuring Will Cochrane—MI6’s, and now the CIA’s, most prized asset and deadliest weapon.
 
In Slingshot, Cochrane is ordered to recover a mysterious document stolen by a Russian Foreign Intelligence Service (SRV) traitor working for a former high-ranking East German Stasi officer. The officer, years before, had instigated a secret pact between Russian and U.S. generals. The agreement stipulated that should it be broken, an assassin would immediately be set loose after an unknown target.
 
The SRV has sent their own version of Cochrane, a cold-blooded, brilliant operative, to retrieve the document, pitting spycatcher against spycatcher.
 
Slingshot, with its cat-and-mouse espionage, brutal action, and complex protagonist, is a must-read for fans of Robert Ludlum and Lee Child.

 

About Matthew Dunn

See more books from this Author
As an MI6 field officer, Matthew Dunn coordinated special operations, and acted in deep-cover roles throughout the world. He was trained in all aspects of intelligence collection, deep-cover deployments, small-arms, explosives, military unarmed combat, surveillance, and infiltration. During his time in MI6, Dunn conducted approximately seventy missions-all of them successful. He lives in England.
 
Published June 25, 2013 by William Morrow. 421 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Horror. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Slingshot
All: 3 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 1

Publishers Weekly

Below average
on May 20 2013

Dunn, a former MI6 agent, clearly knows his tradecraft, but the secret plot is never credibly convincing and most characters never rise above stereotypes...

Read Full Review of Slingshot: A Spycatcher Novel | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Kirkus

Good
on Jun 17 2013

Perhaps more cerebral and less breathtaking then Spycatcher but as rewarding as championship bridge.

Read Full Review of Slingshot: A Spycatcher Novel | See more reviews from Kirkus

The Economist

Above average
on Jul 27 2013

In quiet moments, Cochrane plays Bach on his lute and whips up pheasant casserole with shallots and Calvados. But mostly he spends his time gunning down enemies in a taut and well-told tale that ricochets across Europe.

Read Full Review of Slingshot: A Spycatcher Novel | See more reviews from The Economist

Reader Rating for Slingshot
81%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 149 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×