So Buttons by Jonathan Baylis
Man of, Like, a Dozen Faces

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Chapters on his work at Marvel and other companies will appeal to the mainstream comics fan. Most effective (and affecting) is the personal touch in stories about those close to him...
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

Collects the choicest slices of life from ten years of So Buttons, writer Jonathan Baylis's autobiographical comics series, as well as two new stories, "So . . . Hallow" with art by Rick Parker and Noah Van Sciver and "So. . . Bejeweled" with art by Rachel Dukes. Baylis utilizes an all-star cadre of indie artists to illustrate his true-life tales including Jim Steranko, Joseph Remnant, Fred Hembeck, Dean Haspiel, Jay Lynch, Ed Piskor, and Tom Scioli.

Jonathan Baylis started in comics as an intern at Marvel and Valiant. He was also an Associate Editor at Topps Comics.

 

About Jonathan Baylis

See more books from this Author
So Buttons is an auto-biographical comic series written by Jonathan Baylis. In the tradition of Harvey Pekar's American Splendor, Baylis matches his stories with several groundbreaking artists to capture down-to-earth slices of everyday life and pop culture. So Buttons is an invitation to laugh and be moved by memories and experiences everyone can relate to.Before Baylis wrote auto-bio comics, he interned at Marvel, Valiant/Acclaim, and was an Associate Editor at Topps Comics. His comics have been published locally in New York City, in literary anthologies like The Florida Review, Backwards City Review, and Wild River Review, and in comics anthologies such as I Saw You... Missed Connections, Side B: The Music Lovers Anthology, Fluke, Hive, Aftershock and Digestate. He has collected his stories into the self-published, "So Buttons" series, of which there are seven issues and a holiday special in print. More stories can be found at www.sobuttons.com and sobuttons.tumblr.com
 
Published September 13, 2016 by So Buttons Comics. 184 pages
Genres: Comics & Graphic Novels.
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for So Buttons
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Publishers Weekly

Good
on Jun 19 2015

Chapters on his work at Marvel and other companies will appeal to the mainstream comics fan. Most effective (and affecting) is the personal touch in stories about those close to him...

Read Full Review of So Buttons: Man of, Like, a D... | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Rate this book!

Add Review