Social Creature by Tara Isabella Burton
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

For all the story’s modern trappings, there’s not much that’s truly original here. But Burton draws us in via her marvellous control of the material, the expert way she plays off Lavinia’s lavishness against Louise’s guile...
-Guardian

Synopsis

"Social Creature is a wicked original with echoes of the greats (Patricia Highsmith, Gillian Flynn)." —Janet Maslin, The New York Times

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Donna Tartt, a dark, propulsive and addictive debut thriller, splashed with all the glitz and glitter of New York City.

They go through both bottles of champagne right there on the High Line, with nothing but the stars over them... They drink and Lavinia tells Louise about all the places they will go together, when they finish their stories, when they are both great writers-to Paris and to Rome and to Trieste...

Lavinia will never go. She is going to die soon.

Louise has nothing. Lavinia has everything. After a chance encounter, the two spiral into an intimate, intense, and possibly toxic friendship. A Talented Mr. Ripley for the digital age, this seductive story takes a classic tale of obsession and makes it irresistibly new.
 

About Tara Isabella Burton

See more books from this Author
 
Published June 5, 2018 by Doubleday. 278 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Crime. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Social Creature
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Guardian

Above average
Reviewed by Carrie O'Grady on Jun 21 2018

For all the story’s modern trappings, there’s not much that’s truly original here. But Burton draws us in via her marvellous control of the material, the expert way she plays off Lavinia’s lavishness against Louise’s guile...

Read Full Review of Social Creature: A Novel | See more reviews from Guardian

Reader Rating for Social Creature
78%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 66 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×